This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
NSA Director


Director of the National Security Agency.

Official Website:

Nov-1952 Nov-1956 Ralph J. Canine (under Harry S. Truman and Dwight D. Eisenhower)
Nov-1956 Nov-1960 John A. Samford (under Dwight D. Eisenhower)
Nov-1960 Jan-1962 Laurence H. Frost (under Dwight D. Eisenhower and John F. Kennedy)
Jan-1962 Jun-1965 Gordon A. Blake (under John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson)
Jun-1965 Aug-1969 Marshall S. Carter (under Lyndon B. Johnson and Richard M. Nixon)
Aug-1969 Aug-1972 Noel A. M. Gaylor (under Richard M. Nixon)
Aug-1972 Aug-1973 Samuel C. Phillips (under Richard M. Nixon)
Aug-1973 Jul-1977 Lew Allen, Jr. (under Richard M. Nixon, Gerald Ford, and Jimmy Carter)
Jul-1977 Apr-1981 Bobby Ray Inman (under Jimmy Carter and Ronald Reagan)
Apr-1981 May-1985 Lincoln D. Faurer (under Ronald Reagan)
May-1985 Aug-1988 William Odom (under Ronald Reagan)
Aug-1988 May-1992 William O. Studeman (under Ronald Reagan and George H.W. Bush)
May-1992 Feb-1996 John M. McConnell (under George H.W. Bush and Bill Clinton)
Feb-1996 Mar-1999 Kenneth A. Minihan (under Bill Clinton)
Mar-1999 1-Aug-2005 Michael V. Hayden (under Bill Clinton and George W. Bush)
1-Aug-2005 28-Mat-2014 Keith B. Alexander (under George W. Bush and Barack Obama)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


NPR mostly unconnected to CPB

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.