This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Margery Allingham

Margery AllinghamAKA Margery Louise Allingham

Born: 20-May-1904
Birthplace: Ealing, Middlesex, England
Died: 30-Jun-1966
Location of death: Colchester, Essex, England
Cause of death: Cancer - unspecified
Remains: Buried, St. Nicholas Church, Tolleshunt D'Arcy, Essex, England

Gender: Female
Religion: Christian
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Straight
Occupation: Novelist

Nationality: England
Executive summary: Albert Campion detective novels

Father: Herbert John Allingham (author)
Mother: Emily Jane Hughes
Husband: Philip Youngman Carter (m. 1927)

    High School: Perse School for Girls, Cambridge, England
    University: Drama, Regent Street Polytechnic, London, England

    Risk Factors: Stuttering

Author of books:
Blackkerchief Dick (1923, occult)
Water in a Sieve (1925)
The White Cottage Mystery (1928, detective)
The Crime at Black Dudley (1929, detective)
Mystery Mile (1930, detective)
Look to the Lady (1931, detective)
Police at the Funeral (1931, detective)
Sweet Danger (1933, detective)
The Mystery Man of Soho (1933, detective)
Other Man's Danger (1933, detective, as Maxwell March)
Death of a Ghost (1934, detective)
Rogues' Holiday (1935, detective, as Maxwell March)
Flowers for the Judge (1936, detective)
The Shadow in the House (1936, detective, as Maxwell March)
Mr Campion: Criminologist (1937, detective)
The Case of the Late Pig (1937, detective)
Dancers in Mourning (1937, detective)
The Fashion in Shrouds (1938, detective)
Sleuth's Corner: Who Killed Robin Cox? (1938, detective)
Mr Campion and Others (1939, short stories, rev. 1950)
Black Plumes (1940, detective)
Traitor's Purse (1940, detective)
The Oaken Heart (1941, detective)
Dance of the Years (1943, detective)
Coroner's Pidgin (1945, detective)
The Case Book of Mr Campion (1947, detective)
More Work for the Undertaker (1948, detective)
Deadly Duo (1949, detective)
The Tiger in the Smoke (1950, detective)
No Love Lost (1954, short stories)
The Beckoning Lady (1955, detective)
Hide My Eyes (1958, detective)
The China Governess (1962, detective)
The Mysterious Mr Campion (1963, detective)
The Mind Readers (1965, detective)
Mr Campion's Lady (1965, omnibus)
Mr Campion's Clowns (1967, omnibus, posthumous)
Cargo of Eagles (1968, detective, completed by Youngman Carter)
The Allingham Casebook (1969, short stories)
The Allingham Minibus (1973, short stories)
The Return of Mr Campion (1989, short stories)
The Darings of the Red Rose (1995, detective, originally published anonymously in 1930)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications