This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

R. V. Cassill

AKA Ronald Verlin Cassill

Born: 17-May-1919
Birthplace: Cedar Falls, IA
Died: 25-Mar-2002
Location of death: Providence, RI [1]
Cause of death: unspecified

Gender: Male
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Straight
Occupation: Novelist

Nationality: United States
Executive summary: Dr. Cobb's Game

Military service: US Army (1942-46, 1st Lt.)

[1] Rhode Island Hospital, Providence, RI.

Father: Howard Cassill (school superintendent)
Mother: Mary E. Glosser (teacher)
Brother: H. Carroll Cassill
Sister: LaJean Holstein
Wife: Kathleen Rosecranz (div.)
Wife: Karilyn Kay Adams (m. 1956, two sons, one daughter)
Son: Orin E. Cassill
Son: Jesse B. Cassill
Daughter: Erica Cassill Wood

    University: BA, University of Iowa (1939)
    University: MA, University of Iowa (1947)
    Teacher: University of Iowa (1948-52)
    University: Sorbonne (1952-53, on a Fulbright)
    Teacher: Lecturer, New School for Social Research (1957-59)
    Teacher: Lecturer, Columbia University (1957-59)
    Teacher: Lecturer, University of Iowa (1960-65)
    Professor: Brown University (1966-83)

    Phi Beta Kappa Society
    Fulbright 1952
    Guggenheim Fellowship 1968

Author of books:
The Eagle on the Coin (1950, novel)
Dormitory Women (1953, novel)
The Left Bank of Desire (1955, novel, with Eric Protter)
A Taste of Sin (1955, novel)
The General Said "Nuts." (1955, nonfiction)
The Hungering Shame (1956, novel)
The Wound of Love (1956, novel)
An Affair to Remember (1957, novel, as Owen Aherne)
Naked Morning (1957, novel)
Man on Fire (1957, novel, as Owen Aherne)
The Buccaneer (1958, novel)
Lustful Summer (1958, novel)
Nurses' Quarters (1958, novel)
The Tempest (1959, novel)
The Wife Next Door (1959, novel)
Clem Anderson (1960, novel)
My Sister's Keeper (1961, novel)
Night School (1961, novel)
Writing Fiction (1963, nonfiction)
Pretty Leslie (1963, novel)
The President (1964, novel)
The Father and Other Stories (1965, short stories)
The Happy Marriage and Other Stories (1967, short stories)
In an Iron Time: Statements and Reiterations: Essays (1967, essays)
La Vie Passionée of Rodney Buckthorne: A Tale of the Great American's Last Rally and Curious Death (1968, novel)
Doctor Cobb's Game (1969, novel)
The Goss Women (1974, novel)
Hoyt's Child (1976, novel)
Labors of Love (1980, novel)
Flame (1980, novel)
Three Stories (1982, short stories)
After Goliath (1985, novel)
Patrimonies (1988, short stories)
Collected Stories (1989, short stories)
The Unknown Soldier (1991, novel)

Create a map starting with R. V. Cassill
Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications