This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Dick Francis

Dick FrancisAKA Richard Stanley Francis

Born: 31-Oct-1920
Birthplace: Tenby, Wales
Died: 14-Feb-2010
Location of death: Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Cause of death: unspecified

Gender: Male
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Straight
Occupation: Novelist, Jockey

Nationality: Wales
Executive summary: Dead Cert

Military service: RAF (WWII)

Father: George V. Francis
Mother: Catherine M. Francis
Wife: Mary Margaret Brenchley (m. 1947, d. 30-Sep-2000, two sons)
Son: Felix Francis (his manager)
Son: Merrick Francis

    Officer of the British Empire 1984
    Commander of the British Empire 2000

Author of books:
The Sport of Queens: The Autobiography of Dick Francis (1957, memoir)
Dead Cert (1962, novel)
Nerve (1964, novel)
For Kicks (1965, novel)
Odds Against (1965, novel)
Flying Finish (1966, novel)
Blood Sport (1967, novel)
Forfeit (1968, novel)
Enquiry (1969, novel)
Rat Race (1970, novel)
Bonecrack (1971, novel)
Smokescreen (1972, novel)
Slayride (1973, novel)
Knockdown (1974, novel)
High Stakes (1975, novel)
In the Frame (1976, novel)
Risk (1977, novel)
Trial Run (1978, novel)
Whip Hand (1979, novel)
Reflex (1980, novel)
Twice Shy (1981, novel)
Banker (1982, novel)
The Danger (1983, novel)
Proof (1984, novel)
Break In (1985, novel)
Bolt (1986, novel)
Hot Money (1987, novel)
The Edge (1988, novel)
Straight (1989, novel)
Longshot (1990, novel)
Comeback (1991, novel)
Driving Force (1992, novel)
Decider (1993, novel)
Wild Horses (1994, novel)
Come to Grief (1995, novel)
To the Hilt (1996, novel)
10 lb. Penalty (1997, novel)
Field of Thirteen (1998, short stories)
Second Wind (1999, novel)
Shattered (2000, novel)
Under Orders (2006, novel)
Dead Heat‎ (2007, novel, with Felix Francis)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications