This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Jorge Luis Borges

Jorge Luis BorgesAKA Jorge Francisco Isidoro Luis Borges Acevedo

Born: 24-Aug-1899
Birthplace: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Died: 14-Jun-1986
Location of death: Geneva, Switzerland
Cause of death: Cancer - Liver
Remains: Buried, Cimetière des Rois, Geneva, Switzerland

Gender: Male
Race or Ethnicity: Hispanic
Sexual orientation: Asexual
Occupation: Author, Scholar

Nationality: Argentina
Executive summary: The Garden of Forking Paths

Collaborated with Adolfo Bioy Casares as H. Bustos Domecq.

Father: (d. 1938)
Wife: Elsa Astete de Millán (m. 1967, div. 1970)
Wife: María Kodama (m. Apr-1986)

    Professor: Literature, University of Buenos Aires (1956-1970)

    American Academy of Arts and Letters
    French Legion of Honor 1983
    World Fantasy Award 1979 Lifetime Achievement
    Cervantes Prize 1979
    Balzan Prize 1980
    Edgar Allan Poe Award Special Award (1976)
    Risk Factors: Blindness

Is the subject of books:
Borges y la nueva generación, 1954, BY: Adolfo Prieto

Author of books:
Fervor de Buenos Aires (1923, poetry)
Luna de enfrente (1925, poetry)
Inquisiciones (1925, essays)
El tamaño de mi esperanza (1926, essays)
El idioma de los argentinos (1928, essays)
Cuaderno San Martin (1929, poetry)
Evaristo Carriego (1930, hagiography)
Discusión (1932, essays, film criticism)
Historia universal de la infamia (1935, short stories)
Historia de la eternidad (1936, essays)
El jardin de senderos que se bifurcan (1941, short stories)
Seis problemas para don Isidro Parodi (1942, short stories, as H. Bustos Domecq, trans. Six Problems for Don Isidro Parodi)
Ficciones (1944, short stories)
Dos fantasías memorables (1946, short stories, as H. Bustos Domecq)
Un modelo para la muerte (1946, short stories, as H. Bustos Domecq)
El Aleph (1949, short stories)
Otras inquisiciones (1952, essays)
El hacedor (1960, poetry and prose)
Libro del cielo y del infierno (1960, novel, as H. Bustos Domecq)
Antología personal (1961, anthology)
Labyrinths (1962, anthology, in English)
Crónicas de Bustos Domecq (1967, short stories, as H. Bustos Domecq, trans. Chronicles of Bustos Domecq)
Elogio de la sombra (1969, poetry and prose)
El otro, el mismo (1969, poetry)
El informe de Brodie (1970, short stories)
El oro de los tigres (1972, poetry and prose)
La rosa profunda (1975, poetry)
El libro de arena (1975, short stories)
Prólogos (1975, prologues)
La moneda de hierro (1976, poetry and prose)
Historia de la noche (1977, poetry)
Nuevos cuentos de Bustos Domecq (1977, short stories, as H. Bustos Domecq)
Nueve ensayos dantescos (1981, essays)
Atlas (1984, prose, with photographs by María Kodama)
Los conjurados (1985, poetry and prose)

Create a map starting with Jorge Luis Borges
Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications