This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Clive Barker

Clive BarkerBorn: 5-Oct-1952
Birthplace: Liverpool, England

Gender: Male
Religion: See Note [1]
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Gay [2]
Occupation: Novelist, Film Director

Nationality: England
Executive summary: Hellraiser

[1] Interviewed by Douglas E. Winter, in Faces of Fear. 1985. New York: Berkley Publishing Group. "I go to church for other people's weddings, baptisms and the occasional funeral, and that really is it. [My religious belief is] in system: I believe in life after death. I absolutely assume the continuity, in some form or another, of mind after bodily corruption. I certainly don't believe in any patriarchal god... but I don't think we live in a universe in which anything's ever lost. Transformed, maybe, but never lost. I think that may be the bottom line of my religious belief. And that's probably as far as I'm able to go. But it gets me through the night."

[2] Interview with Carnell, "Riding the Waves with Clive Barker", Carpe Noctem, Vol. 2 No. 3, 1995: "As a gay man, with a lot of gay friends, some of whom I've lost, that certainly sharpens the edge of one's knowledge more than you would like, really, but there's something else, something even if AIDS were not such an important and tragic element of our lives right now; the issue of sex stirs us up because it's a control issue."

Boyfriend: David Armstrong

    University: Luton College of Technology and Art
Liverpool University

    World Fantasy Award 1985 Clive Barker's Books of Blood (anthology)

    Lord of Illusions (25-Aug-1995)
    Nightbreed (16-Feb-1990)
    Hellraiser (11-Sep-1987)

    Quicksilver Highway (13-May-1997)
    Sleepwalkers (10-Apr-1992)

Official Website:

Is the subject of books:
Clive Barker: The Dark Fantastic, 2002, BY: Douglas E. Winter

Author of books:
The Damnation Game (1985, novel)
The Hellbound Heart (1986, novel)
Weaveworld (1987, novel)
The Great and Secret Show (1989, novel)
Imajica (1991, novel)
The Yattering and Jack (1992, novel)
The Thief of Always (1992, novel)
Everville (1994, novel)
Sacrament (1996, novel)
Galilee (1998, novel)
Coldheart Canyon: A Hollywood Ghost Story (2001, novel0)
Abarat (2002, novel)
Abarat: Days of Magic, Nights of War (2004, novel)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications