This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Margaret Atwood

Margaret AtwoodAKA Margaret Eleanor Atwood

Born: 18-Nov-1939
Birthplace: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Gender: Female
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Straight
Occupation: Author, Poet, Critic

Nationality: Canada
Executive summary: The Handmaid's Tale

Father: Carl Edmund Atwood (entomologist)
Mother: Margaret Dorothy Killam
Brother: Harold Leslie (older)
Sister: Ruth (b. 1951)
Husband: James Polk (m. 1967, div.)
Boyfriend: Graeme Gibson (one daughter)
Daughter: Eleanor Atwood Gibson ("Jess")
Son: Matt (stepson)
Son: Grae (stepson)
Boyfriend: James Ford (together 1963-64)

    University: BA English, University of Toronto
    University: Harvard University
    Teacher: University of British Columbia (1964-65)
    Teacher: Sir George Williams University (1967-68)
    Teacher: University of Alberta (1969-70)
    Professor: York University Toronto (1971-72)

    Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2000 for The Blind Assassin
    Giller Prize 1996 for Alias Grace
    Guggenheim Fellowship 1981
    Humanist of the Year 1987
    Canada's Walk of Fame 2001
    Order of Canada 1973
    David Suzuki Foundation Honorary Board Member

    Alias Grace (12-Sep-2017)
    Surviving Progress (11-Sep-2011) · Herself

Official Website:

Author of books:
The Circle Game: Poems (1966, poetry)
The Animals in That Country: Poems (1968, poetry)
The Edible Woman (1969, novel)
The political thought of Sir Henry Vane, the younger (1969)
Procedures for Underground: Poems (1970, poetry)
The Journals of Susanna Moodie: Poems (1970, poetry)
Power Politics: Poems (1971, poetry)
Surfacing (1972, novel)
Survival: A Thematic Guide to Canadian Literature (1972, criticism)
You Are Happy: Poems (1974, poetry)
Selected Poems: 1965-1975 (1975, poetry)
Lady Oracle (1976, novel)
Marsh, Hawk (1976)
Dancing Girls and Other Stories (1977, short stories)
Days of the Rebels: 1815-1840 (1977)
Two-headed Poems (1978)
Up in the Tree (1978)
Life Before Man (1979, novel)
Anna's Pet (1980)
Bodily Harm (1981, novel)
True Stories: Poems (1981, poetry)
Second Words: Selected Critical Prose (1982, criticism)
Bluebeard's Egg and Other Stories (1983, short stories)
Murder in the Dark: Short Fictions and Prose Poems (1983, short stories)
Selected Poems: 1966-1984 (1984, poetry)
The Handmaid's Tale (1985, novel)
Selected Poems II: 1976-1986 (1986, poetry)
The CanLit Foodbook: From Pen to Palate -- A Collection of Tasty Literary Fare (1987, nonfiction)
Cat's Eye (1988, novel)
Interlunar: Poems (1988, poetry)
For the Birds (1990)
Wilderness Tips (1991, short stories)
Good Bones (1992, short stories)
The Robber Bride (1993, novel)
Eating Fire: Selected Poetry 1965-1995 (1995, poetry)
Morning in the Burned House (1995)
Princess Prunella and the Purple Peanut (1995, illus. Maryann Kovalski)
Strange Things: The Malevolent North in Canadian Literature (1995, criticism)
Alias Grace (1996, novel)
The Labrador Fiasco (1996)
A Quiet Game: And Other Early Works (1997)
Two Solicitudes: Conversations (1998, with Victor-Levy Beaulieu)
The Blind Assassin (2001, novel)
Negotiating with the Dead: A Writer on Writing (2003)
Oryx and Crake (2003, novel)
Bashful Bob and Doleful Dorinda (2004, illus. Dusan Petricic)
Rude Ramsay and the Roaring Radishes (2004)

Create a map starting with Margaret Atwood
Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications