This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Penelope Lively

Penelope LivelyAKA Penelope Margaret Low

Born: 17-Mar-1933
Birthplace: Cairo, Egypt

Gender: Female
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Straight
Occupation: Novelist

Nationality: England
Executive summary: Moon Tiger

Father: Roger Low
Mother: Vera Greer
Husband: Jack Lively (m. 1957, one son, one daughter)

    University: St. Anne's College, Oxford University (1954)

    Man Booker Prize for Fiction 1987 for Moon Tiger
    Officer of the British Empire 1989
    Commander of the British Empire 2001
    Royal Society of Literature

Official Website:

Author of books:
Astercote (1970, juvenile)
The Whispering Knights (1971, juvenile)
The Driftway (1972, juvenile)
The Ghost of Thomas Kempe (1973, juvenile)
The House in Norham Gardens (1974, juvenile)
Going Back (1975, juvenile)
Boy Without a Name (1975, juvenile)
The Presence of the Past: An Introduction to Landscape History (1976, nonfiction)
A Stitch in Time (1976, juvenile)
The Stained Glass Window (1976, juvenile)
Fanny's Sister (1976, juvenile)
The Road to Lichfield (1977, novel)
The Voyage of QV66 (1978, juvenile)
Fanny and the Monsters (1978, juvenile)
Nothing Missing but the Samovar, and Other Stories (1978, short stories)
Treasures of Time (1979, novel)
Fanny and the Battle of Potter's Piece (1980, juvenile)
Judgement Day (1980, novel)
The Revenge of Samuel Stokes (1981, juvenile)
Next to Nature, Art (1982)
Perfect Happiness (1983)
Uninvited Ghosts and other stories (1984, juvenile)
Corruption, and Other Stories (1984, short stories)
According to Mark (1984)
Dragon Trouble (1984, juvenile)
Pack of Cards, Stories 1978-86 (1986, short stories)
Moon Tiger (1987, novel)
Debbie and the Little Devil (1987, juvenile)
A House Inside Out (1987, juvenile)
Passing On (1989, novel)
City of the Mind (1991, novel)
Cleopatra's Sister (1993, novel)
Princess by Mistake (1993, juvenile)
Judy and the Martian (1993, juvenile)
Oleander, Jacaranda (1994, memoir)
The Cat, the Crow and the Banyan Tree (1994, juvenile)
Good Night, Sleep Tight (1995, juvenile)
Two Bears and Joe (1995, juvenile)
Staying with Grandpa (1995, juvenile)
A Martian Comes to Stay (1995, juvenile)
Heat Wave (1996, novel)
Lost Dog (1996, juvenile)
One, Two, Three... Jump! (1998, juvenile)
Spiderweb (1998, novel)
A House Unlocked (2001, nonfiction)
The Photograph (2003, novel)
Making It Up (2005, novel)

Create a map starting with Penelope Lively
Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications