This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Lucy Maud Montgomery

Lucy Maud MontgomeryBorn: 30-Nov-1874
Birthplace: Clifton, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Died: 24-Apr-1942
Location of death: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Cause of death: Heart Failure [1]
Remains: Buried, Cavendish Community Cemetery, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Gender: Female
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Straight
Occupation: Novelist

Nationality: Canada
Executive summary: Anne of Green Gables

[1] According to the coroner's report, coronary thrombosis. Some have speculated she took her own life in an overdose, but this is far from proven. This note -- published by the Globe and Mail on 24 September 2008 -- was found near her deathbed, but it is of the same tone as other of her journal entries, including the knowledge that she was ill and at the end of her life: "This copy is unfinished and never will be. It is in a terrible state because I made it when I had begun to suffer my terrible breakdown of 1940. It must end here. If any publishers wish to publish extracts from it under the terms of my will they must stop here. The tenth volume can never be copied and must not be made public during my lifetime. Parts of it are too terrible and would hurt people. I have lost my mind by spells and I do not dare think what I may do in those spells. May God forgive me and I hope everyone else will forgive me even if they cannot understand. My position is too awful to endure and nobody realizes it. What an end to a life in which I tried always to do my best."

Husband: Ewan Macdonald (m. 5-Jul-1911, until her death, three sons)
Son: Chester (b. 1912)
Son: Hugh Alexander (b. 1914, died at birth)
Son: Stuart (b. 1915)

    Nervous Breakdown 1940
    Risk Factors: Depression

Author of books:
Anne of Green Gables (1908, novel)
Anne of Avonlea (1909, novel)
Kilmeny of the Orchard (1910, novel)
The Story Girl (1911, novel)
Chronicles of Avonlea (1912, novel)
The Golden Road (1913, novel)
Anne of the Island (1915, novel)
The Watchman & Other Poems (1916, poetry)
Anne's House of Dreams (1917, novel)
Rainbow Valley (1919, novel)
Further Chronicles of Avonlea (1920, novel)
Rilla of Ingleside (1921, novel)
Emily of New Moon (1923, novel)
Emily Climbs (1925, novel)
The Blue Castle (1926, novel)
Emily's Quest (1927, novel)
Magic for Marigold (1929, novel)
A Tangled Web (1931, novel)
Pat of Silver Bush (1933, novel)
Courageous Women (1934, with other authors)
Mistress Pat (1935, novel)
Anne of Windy Poplars (1936, novel)
Jane of Lantern Hill (1937, novel)
Anne of Ingleside (1939, novel)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications