This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

Emlyn Williams

Emlyn WilliamsAKA George Emlyn Williams

Born: 26-Nov-1905
Birthplace: Mostyn, Flintshire, Wales
Died: 25-Sep-1987
Location of death: London, England
Cause of death: Cancer - unspecified

Gender: Male
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Bisexual
Occupation: Playwright, Actor

Nationality: Wales
Executive summary: Night Must Fall

Wife: Molly O'Shann (m. 1935, d. 1970, two sons)
Son: Alan Williams
Son: Brook Williams (actor, b. 22-Jan-1938, d. 29-Apr-2005)

    High School: Holywell Grammar School
    University: Christ Church, Oxford University

    Commander of the British Empire 1962

    The Last Days of Dolwyn (13-Apr-1949)

    Past Caring (1985)
    Deadly Game (1982)
    The Walking Stick (10-Jun-1970)
    David Copperfield (1969)
    Eye of the Devil (6-Dec-1967)
    The Epic That Never Was (1965) · Himself
    The L-Shaped Room (20-Nov-1962) · Dr. Weaver
    The Wreck of the Mary Deare (6-Nov-1959) · Sir Wilfred Falcett
    Web of Evidence (28-Apr-1959)
    I Accuse! (5-Mar-1958) · Emile Zola
    The Deep Blue Sea (13-Oct-1955)
    Ivanhoe (31-Jul-1952) · Wamba
    Another Man's Poison (6-Jan-1952) · Dr. Henderson
    The Scarf (6-Apr-1951)
    Three Husbands (8-Mar-1951)
    The Magic Box (1951)
    The Last Days of Dolwyn (13-Apr-1949)
    Hatter's Castle (2-Feb-1942)
    Major Barbara (14-May-1941)
    Girl in the News (28-Aug-1940) · Tracy
    The Stars Look Down (24-Feb-1940)
    Jamaica Inn (15-May-1939)
    They Drive by Night (Dec-1938)
    The Citadel (3-Nov-1938) · Owen
    Broken Blossoms (20-May-1936)
    Evensong (Sep-1934)
    Friday the Thirteenth (Nov-1933)

Author of books:
George: An Early Autobiography (1961, memoir)
Emlyn: An Early Autobiography, 1927-1935 (1973, memoir)
Headlong (1980, novel)

Wrote plays:
Vigil (1926)
Glamour (1928)
Full Moon (1929)
A Murder Has Been Arranged (1930)
Port Said (1931)
The Late Christopher Bean (1933)
Spring, 1600 (1934)
Night Must Fall (1935)
He Was Born Gay (1937)
The Light of Heart (1940)
The Corn Is Green (1941)
The Morning Star (1941)
Pen Don (1943)
The Druid's Rest (1944)
The Wind of Heaven (1945)
Trespass (1947)
Accolade (1950)
Someone Waiting (1953)
Beth (1958)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications