This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for

John Arden

Born: 26-Oct-1930
Birthplace: Barnsley, Yorkshire, England
Died: 28-Mar-2012
Location of death: Galway, Ireland
Cause of death: unspecified

Gender: Male
Race or Ethnicity: White
Sexual orientation: Straight
Occupation: Playwright

Nationality: England
Executive summary: Serjeant Musgrave's Dance

Military service: British Army (Intelligence Corps, 1949-50, Lance Cpl.)

Wife: Margaretta D'Arcy (actress/playwright, m. 1957, five sons)

    High School: Sedbergh School, Yorkshire (1944-48)
    University: BA Architecture, King's College, Cambridge University (1953)
    University: Architecture, Edinburgh College of Art (1953-55, diploma)

Author of books:
Silence Among the Weapons (1982, novel)
Books of Bale (1988, novel)
Cogs Tyrannic (1991, novel)
Jack Juggler and the Emperor's Whore (1995, novel)

Wrote plays:
All Fall Down (1955)
The Life of Man (1956)
The Waters of Babylon (1957)
Live Like Pigs (1958)
When Is A Door Not A Door? (1958)
Serjeant Musgrave's Dance (1959)
The Business Of Good Government (1960, with Margaretta D'Arcy)
The Workhouse Donkey (1963)
Ars Longa, Vita Brevis (1964, with Margaretta D'Arcy)
Armstrong's Last Goodnight (1964)
Left-Handed Liberty (1965)
Royal Pardon, The; Or, The Soldier Who Became An Actor (1966, with Margaretta D'Arcy)
Two Hundred Years Of Labour History (1968, with Margaretta D'Arcy, et. al.)
The True History of Squire Jonathan and His Unfortunate Treasure (1968)
The Ballygombeen Bequest (1972, with Margaretta D'Arcy)
The Island of the Mighty (1972, with Margaretta D'Arcy)
The Devil And The Parish Pump (1974, with Margaretta D'Arcy)
The Non-Stop Connolly Cycle (1975)
Sean O'Scrudu (1976, with Margaretta D'Arcy)
A Pinprick Of History (1977, with Margaretta D'Arcy)
Vandaleur's Folly (1978, with Margaretta D'Arcy)
The Little Gray Home in the West (1982)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2019 Soylent Communications