This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War


Awarded the 1985 Nobel Peace Prize.

Board of Directors as of October 2006: Co-President Ime John, Co-President Gunnar Westberg, VP Africa Walter Odhiambo, VP Europe Bjørn Hilt, VP Latin America Antonio Jarquin, VP Middle East Ahmed Mahmoud Geneid, VP North America Ira Helfand, VP North Asia Katsuko Kataoka, VP Russia Vladimir Garkavenko, VP South Asia Kamrul Hasan Khan, VP Southeast Asia Daniele Viliunas, Caecelie Buhmann, Martina Grosch, Andrew S. Kanter, Alex Rosen, Tilman Ruff, Masao Tomonaga, Elizabeth Waterston.

Ex Officio: Michael Christ, Arun Mitra, Peter Wilk, Herman Spanjaard.

Founding Co-Presidents, Bernard Lown and Evgueni Chazov.

Official Website:

NameOccupationBirthDeathKnown for
Bernard Lown
7-Jun-1921   Inventor of defibrillator, peace activist

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Trek universe, soap opera connections

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.