This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Public Enemy


Public Enemy is a militant hip-hop group from Long Island, NY formed in 1982. They were signed to Def Jam by Rick Rubin. In 1999 Public Enemy left Def Jam records in a dispute over free downloads (Chuck D is a vociferous supporter of file sharing).

Official Website:

NameOccupationBirthDeathKnown for
Chuck D
1-Aug-1960   The rhyme animal
Flavor Flav
16-Mar-1959   Public Enemy


Yo! Bumrush the Show (1987, Def Jam)
1 You're Gonna Get Yours
2 Sophisticated Bitch featuring Vernon Reid
3 Miuzi Weighs a Ton
4 Timebomb
5 Too Much Posse
6 Rightstarter (Message to a Black Man)
7 Public Enemy No. 1
8 M.P.E.
9 Yo! Bum Rush the Show
10 Raise the Roof
11 Megablast
12 Terminator X Speaks With His Hands

It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back (1988, Def Jam)
1 Countdown to Armageddon
2 Bring the Noise
3 Don't Believe the Hype
4 Cold Lampin' With Flavor
5 Terminator X to the Edge of Panic
6 Mind Terrorist
7 Louder Than a Bomb
8 Caught, Can We Get a Witness
9 Show 'Em Whatcha Got
10 She Watch Channel Zero?!
11 Night of the Living Baseheads
12 Black Steel in the Hour of Chaos
13 Security of the First World
14 Rebel Without a Pause
15 Prophets of Rage
16 Party for Your Right to Fight

Fight the Power...Live! (1989, Def Jam)
1 Countdown To Armageddon
2 Public Enemy No. 1
3 Miuzi Weighs A Ton
4 Night Of The Living Baseheads
5 Fight The Power
6 Bring The Noise
7 Don't Believe The Hype
8 Cold Lampin With Flavor
9 Black Steel In The Hour Of Chaos
10 Rebel Without A Pause
11 Terminator X To The Edge Of Panic
12 Night Of The Living Baseheads
13 Prophets Of Rage

Fear of a Black Planet (1990, Def Jam)
1 Contract on the World Love Jam
2 Brother's Gonna Work It Out
3 911 Is a Joke
4 Incident at 66.6 FM
5 Welcome to the Terrordome
6 Meet the G That Killed Me
7 Pollywanacraka
8 Anti-Nigger Machine
9 Burn Hollywood Burn (with Ice Cube and Big Daddy Kane)
10 Power to the People
11 Who Stole the Soul?
12 Fear of a Black Planet
13 Revolutionary Generation
14 Can't Do Nuttin' for Ya Man
15 Reggie Jax
16 Leave This off Your Fuckin' Charts
17 B Side Wins Again
18 War at 33
19 Final Count of the Collison Between Us and Them
20 Fight the Power

In 2005, Fear of a Black Planet was chosen by the Library of Congress to be added to the National Recording Registry

Apocalypse '91...The Enemy Strikes Black (1991, Def Jam)
1 Lost at Birth
2 Rebirth
3 Nighttrain
4 Can't Truss It
5 I Don't Wanna Be Called Yo Niga
6 How to Kill a Radio Consultant
7 By the Time I Get to Arizona
8 Move!
9 1 Million Bottlebags
10 More News at 11
11 Shut 'Em Down
12 A Letter to New York Post
13 Get the Fuck Outta Dodge
14 Bring tha Noise (with Anthrax)

Muse Sick-n-Hour Mess Age (1994, Def Jam)
1 Whole Lotta Love Goin on in the Middle of Hell
2 Theatrical Parts
3 Give It up
4 What Side You on?
5 Bedlam 13:13
6 Stop in the Name...
7 What Kind of Power We Got?
8 So Watcha Gone Do Now
9 White Heaven/Black Hell
10 Race against Time
11 They Used to Call It Dope
12 Aintnuttin Buttersong
13 Live and Undrugged (Pt. 1 & 2)
14 Thin Line between Law and Rape
15 I Ain't Mad at All
16 Death of a Carjacka
17 I Stand Accused
18 Godd Complexx
19 Hitler Day
20 Harry Allen's Interactive Super Highway Phone Call to Chuck D.
21 Living in a Zoo (Remix)

There's A Poison Going On... (1999, In The Paint/Koch)
1 Dark Side of the Wall: 2000
2 Do You Wanna Go Our Way???
4 Here I Go
5 41:19
6 Crash
7 Crayola
8 First the Sheep Next the Shepherd?
9 World Tour Sessions
10 Last Mass of the Caballeros
11 I
12 What What
13 Kevorkian
14 Swindlers Lust
15 Do You Wanna Go Our Way??? (Nextmen UK Mixx)
16 Here I Go (DJ Johnny Juice Vacation In Vietnam Florida Mixx)
17 World Tour Sessions (G Wiz Black Planet Tour Mix)
18 I (Eye For An Eye Mixx)
19 Kill Em (Live)

Revolverlution (2002, In The Paint/Koch)
1 Gotta Give The Peeps What They Need
2 Revolverlution
3 Miuzi Weighs A Ton (Live SF October 21st 1999)
4 Put It Up
5 Can A Woman Make A Man Lose His Mind?
6 Pesa #1
7 Fight The Power (Live Winterthur Switzerland)
8 By The Time I Get To Arizona (The Moleman Mixx)
9 Post-Concert Arizona Interview (U2 Zoo Tour)
10 Son Of A Bush
11 54321...Boom
12 Welcome To The Terrordome (Live Winterthur Switzerland 1992)
13 B Side Wins Again (Scattershot Remix)
14 Get Your Shit Together
15 Pesa #2
16 Shut Em Down (The Functionist Version)
17 Now A Daze
18 Public Enemy No. 1 (Jeronimo Punx Redu)
19 The Making Of Burn Hollywood Burn
20 Gotta Give The Peeps What They Need (DJ Johnny Juice Mix)
21 What Good Is A Bomb?

The single, Gotta Give the Peeps What They Need, was banned by MTV due to its pro-Mumia message. The remixes on this album were chosen in an online contest.

New Whirl Order (2005, Slam Jamz/The Orchard)
1 And No One Broadcasted Louder Than (Intro)
2 New Whirl Odor
3 Bring That Beat Back
4 66.6 Strikes Again
6 What A Fool Believes
7 Makes You Blind
8 Preachin To The Quiet
9 Either We Together Or We Ain't
10 Revolution
11 Check What You're Listening To
12 As Long As The People Got Somethin To Say
13 Ya'll Don't Know
14 Either You Get It By Now Or You Don't
15 Supermans Black In The Building

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2012 Soylent Communications


Theocracy Now!

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.