This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of South Dakota


27-May-1861 2-Nov-1863 William Jayne Republican
2-Nov-1863 5-Sep-1866 Newton Edmunds Republican
5-Sep-1866 10-May-1869 Andrew Jackson Faulk Republican
10-May-1869 1-Jan-1874 John Albyne Burbank Republican
1-Jan-1874 13-Apr-1878 John Lee Pennington Republican
13-Apr-1878 10-Apr-1880 William Alanson Howard Republican
10-Apr-1880 24-Jun-1880 George H. Hand acting, Republican
24-Jun-1880 25-Jul-1884 Nehemiah George Ordway Republican
25-Jul-1884 17-Feb-1886 Gilbert Ashville Pierce Republican
17-Feb-1887 22-Mar-1889 Louis Kussuth Church Democrat
22-Mar-1889 3-Jan-1893 Arthur Calvin Mellette Republican
3-Jan-1893 1-Jan-1897 Charles Henry Sheldon Republican
1-Jan-1897 8-Jan-1901 Andrew Ericson Lee Democrat
8-Jan-1901 3-Jan-1905 Charles Nelson Herreid Republican
3-Jan-1905 9-Jan-1907 Samuel Harrison Elrod Republican
8-Jan-1907 5-Jan-1909 Coe Isaac Crawford Republican
5-Jan-1909 7-Jan-1913 Robert Scadden Vessey Republican
7-Jan-1913 2-Jan-1917 Frank Michael Byrne Republican
2-Jan-1917 4-Jan-1921 Peter Norbeck Republican
4-Jan-1921 6-Jan-1925 William Henry McMaster Republican
6-Jan-1925 4-Jan-1927 Carl Gunderson Republican
4-Jan-1927 6-Jan-1931 William Bulow Democrat
6-Jan-1931 3-Jan-1933 Warren Everett Green Republican
3-Jan-1933 5-Jan-1937 Thomas Berry Democrat
5-Jan-1937 3-Jan-1939 Leslie Jensen Republican
3-Jan-1939 5-Jan-1943 Harlan J. Bushfield Republican
5-Jan-1943 7-Jan-1947 Merrell Q. Sharpe Republican
7-Jan-1947 2-Jan-1951 George T. Mickelson Republican
2-Jan-1951 4-Jan-1955 Sigurd Anderson Republican
4-Jan-1955 6-Jan-1959 Joe Foss Republican
6-Jan-1959 3-Jan-1961 Ralph E. Herseth Democrat
3-Jan-1961 5-Jan-1965 Archie M. Gubbrud Republican
5-Jan-1965 7-Jan-1969 Nils A. Boe Republican
7-Jan-1969 5-Jan-1971 Frank L. Farrar Republican
5-Jan-1971 24-Jul-1978 Richard F. Kneip Democrat
24-Jul-1978 1-Jan-1979 Harvey L. Wollman Democrat
1-Jan-1979 6-Jan-1987 Bill Janklow 1st time, Republican
6-Jan-1987 19-Apr-1993 George S. Mickelson Republican
20-Apr-1993 7-Jan-1995 Walter Dale Miller Republican
7-Jan-1995 7-Jan-2003 Bill Janklow 2nd time, Republican
7-Jan-2003 8-Jan-2011 Mike Rounds Republican
8-Jan-2011 -- Dennis Daugaard Republican

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Current TV New Media Conspiracy

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.