This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of Rhode Island


25-Nov-1663 May-1666 Benedict Arnold (1st time)
May-1666 May-1669 William Brenton  
May-1669 May-1672 Benedict Arnold (2nd time)
May-1672 May-1674 Nicholas Easton  
May-1674 May-1676 William Coddington (1st time)
May-1676 May-1677 Walter Clarke (1st time, b. 1638, d. 1714)
May-1677 20-Jun-1678 Benedict Arnold (3rd time)
28-Aug-1678 1-Nov-1678 William Coddington (2nd time)
8-Nov-1678 12-Mar-1680 John Cranston (b. 1625, d. 1680)
16-Mar-1680 May-1683 Peleg Sanford  
May-1683 May-1685 William Coddington, Jr.  
May-1685 May-1686 Henry Bull (1st time)
May-1686 29-Jun-1686 Walter Clarke (2nd time)
Jun-1686 Feb-1687 John Coggeshall (acting)
27-Feb-1687 May-1690 Henry Bull (2nd time)
May-1690 May-1695 John Easton (b. 1617, d. 1705)
May-1695 Jan-1696 Caleb Carr (d. 1698)
Jan-1696 May-1698 Walter Clarke (3rd time)
May-1698 26-Apr-1727 Samuel Cranston (b. 1659, d. 1727)
May-1727 May-1732 Joseph Jenckes (b. 1656, d. 1740)
May-1732 Dec-1733 William Wanton (d. 1733)
May-1734 5-Jul-1740 John Wanton  
15-Jul-1740 May-1743 Richard Ward (b. 1689, d. 1763)
May-1743 May-1745 William Greene (1st time, b. 1696, d. 1758)
May-1745 May-1746 Gideon Wanton (1st time, b. 1693, d. 1767)
May-1746 May-1747 William Greene (2nd time)
May-1747 1748 Gideon Wanton (2nd time)
1748 1755 William Greene (3rd time)
1755 1757 Stephen Hopkins (1st time, b. 1707, d. 1785)
1757 22-Feb-1758 William Greene (4th time)
14-Mar-1758 1762 Stephen Hopkins (2nd time)
1762 1763 Samuel Ward (1st time, b. 1725, d. 1776)
1763 1765 Stephen Hopkins (3rd time)
1765 1767 Samuel Ward (2nd time)
1767 1768 Stephen Hopkins (4th time)
1768 1769 Josias Lyndon (b. 1704, d. 1778)
1769 7-Nov-1775 Joseph Wanton (b. 1705, d. 1780)
7-Nov-1775 4-May-1778 Nicholas Cooke (b. 1717, d. 1782)
4-May-1778 3-May-1786 William Greene, Jr. (b. 1731, d. 1809)
3-May-1786 5-May-1790 John Collins (b. 1717, d. 1795)
5-May-1790 15-Oct-1805 Arthur Fenner (b. 1745, d. 1805, F-R)
15-Oct-1805 1805 Paul Mumford (acting, b. 1734, d. 1805)
1805 7-May-1806 Henry Smith (acting, b. 1766, d. 1818)
7-May-1806 6-May-1807 Isaac Wilbour (acting, b. 1763, d. 1837)
6-May-1807 1-May-1811 James Fenner (1st time, b. 1771, d. 1846, F-R)
1-May-1811 7-May-1817 William Jones (b. 1753, d. 1822, F-R)
7-May-1817 9-Jan-1821 Nehemiah R. Knight (b. 1780, d. 1854, F-R)
9-Jan-1821 2-May-1821 Edward Cox  
2-May-1821 5-May-1824 William C. Gibbs (b. 1789, d. 1871)
5-May-1824 4-May-1831 James Fenner (2nd time, Whig)
4-May-1831 1-May-1833 Lemuel H. Arnold (b. 1792, d. 1852, Whig)
1-May-1833 2-May-1838 John B. Francis (b. 1791, d. 1864, Whig)
2-May-1838 1-May-1839 William Sprague (b. 1799, d. 1856, Whig)
2-May-1839 2-May-1843 Samuel W. King (b. 1786, d. 1851, Whig)
2-May-1843 6-May-1845 James Fenner (3rd time, Whig)
6-May-1845 6-May-1846 Charles Jackson (b. 1775, d. 1855, Whig)
6-May-1846 4-May-1847 Byron Diman (b. 1795, d. 1865, Whig)
4-May-1847 1-May-1849 Elisha Harris (b. 1824, d. 1884, Whig)
1-May-1849 6-May-1851 Henry B. Anthony (b. 1815, d. 1884, Whig)
6-May-1851 20-Jul-1853 Philip Allen (b. 1785, d. 1865, DFS)
20-Jul-1853 2-May-1854 Francis M. Dimond (acting, b. 1796, d. 1859)
2-May-1854 26-May-1857 William W. Hoppin (b. 1807, d. 1890, AP)
26-May-1857 31-May-1859 Elisha Dyer (b. 1839, d. 1906, Republican)
31-May-1859 May-1860 Thomas G. Turner (b. 1810, d. 1875, Republican)
May-1860 3-Mar-1863 William Sprague (b. 1831, d. 1915, Republican)
3-Mar-1863 26-May-1863 William C. Cozzens (b. 1811, d. 1876)
26-May-1863 29-May-1866 James Y. Smith (b. 1809, d. 1876, Republican)
29-May-1866 25-May-1869 Ambrose Burnside (b. 1824, d. 1881, Republican)
25-May-1869 27-May-1873 Seth Padelford (b. 1807, d. 1878, Republican)
27-May-1873 25-May-1875 Henry Howard (b. 1826, d. 1905, Republican)
25-May-1875 29-May-1877 Henry Lippitt (b. 1818, d. 1891, Republican)
29-May-1877 25-May-1880 Charles C. Van Zandt (b. 1830, d. 1894, Republican)
25-May-1880 29-May-1883 Alfred H. Littlefield (b. 1829, d. 1893, Republican)
29-May-1883 26-May-1885 Augustus O. Bourn (b. 1834, d. 1925, Republican)
26-May-1885 31-May-1887 George P. Wetmore (b. 1846, d. 1921, Republican)
31-May-1887 29-May-1888 John W. Davis (1st time, b. 1826, d. 1907, Democrat)
29-May-1888 28-May-1889 Royal C. Taft (b. 1823, d. 1912, Republican)
28-May-1889 27-May-1890 Herbert W. Ladd (1st time, b. 1843, d. 1913, Republican)
27-May-1890 26-May-1891 John W. Davis (2nd time, Democrat)
26-May-1891 31-May-1892 Herbert W. Ladd (2nd time, Republican)
31-May-1892 29-May-1895 D. Russell Brown (b. 1848, d. 1919, Republican)
29-May-1895 25-May-1897 Charles W. Lippitt (b. 1846, d. 1924, Republican)
25-May-1897 29-May-1900 Elisha Dyer (b. 1839, d. 1906, Republican)
29-May-1900 16-Dec-1901 William Gregory (b. 1849, d. 1901, Republican)
16-Dec-1901 3-Jan-1903 Charles D. Kimball (b. 1859, d. 1930, Republican)
3-Jan-1903 3-Jan-1905 Lucius F.C. Garvin (b. 1841, d. 1922, Democrat)
3-Jan-1905 1-Jan-1907 George H. Utter (b. 1854, d. 1912, Republican)
1-Jan-1907 5-Jan-1909 James H. Higgins (b. 1876, d. 1927, Democrat)
5-Jan-1909 5-Jan-1915 Aram J. Pothier (1st time, b. 1854, d. 1928, Republican)
5-Jan-1915 4-Jan-1921 R. Livingston Beeckman (b. 1866, d. 1935, Republican)
4-Jan-1921 2-Jan-1923 Emery J. San Souci (b. 1857, d. 1936, Republican)
2-Jan-1923 6-Jan-1925 William S. Flynn (b. 1885, d. 1966, Democrat)
6-Jan-1925 3-Feb-1928 Aram J. Pothier (2nd time, Republican)
4-Feb-1928 3-Jan-1933 Norman S. Case (b. 1888, d. 1967, Republican)
3-Jan-1933 5-Jan-1937 Theodore F. Green (b. 1867, d. 1966, Democrat)
5-Jan-1937 3-Jan-1939 Robert E. Quinn (b. 1894, d. 1975, Democrat)
3-Jan-1939 7-Jan-1941 William H. Vanderbilt (b. 1901, d. 1981, Republican)
7-Jan-1941 6-Oct-1945 J. Howard McGrath (b. 1903, d. 1966, Democrat)
6-Oct-1945 19-Dec-1950 John O. Pastore (b. 1907, d. 2000, Democrat)
19-Dec-1950 2-Jan-1951 John S. McKiernan (b. 1911, d. 1997, Democrat)
2-Jan-1951 6-Jan-1959 Dennis J. Roberts (b. 1903, d. 1994, Democrat)
6-Jan-1959 3-Jan-1961 Christopher Del Sesto (b. 1907, d. 1973, Republican)
3-Jan-1961 1-Jan-1963 John A. Notte, Jr. (b. 1909, d. 1983, Democrat)
1-Jan-1963 7-Jan-1969 John H. Chafee (b. 1922, d. 1999, Republican)
7-Jan-1969 2-Jan-1973 Frank Licht (b. 1916, d. 1987, Democrat)
2-Jan-1973 4-Jan-1977 Philip W. Noel (b. 1931, Democrat)
4-Jan-1977 1-Jan-1985 J. Joseph Garrahy (b. 1930, Democrat)
1-Jan-1985 1-Jan-1991 Edward D. DiPrete (b. 1934, Republican)
1-Jan-1991 3-Jan-1995 Bruce Sundlun (b. 1920, d. 2011, Democrat)
3-Jan-1995 7-Jan-2003 Lincoln C. Almond (b. 1936, Republican)
7-Jan-2003 4-Jan-2011 Don Carcieri (b. 1942, Republican)
4-Jan-2011 6-Jan-2015 Lincoln Chafee (b. 1953, Democrat)
6-Jan-2015 -- Gina Raimondo (b. 1971, Democrat)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Black Conservatives

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.