This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of Iowa


3-Jul-1838 15-Aug-1838 William B. Conway (acting, d. 1839, Democrat)
15-Aug-1838 1841 Robert Lucas (b. 1781, d. 1853, Democrat)
1841 1845 John Chambers (b. 1780, d. 1852, Whig)
1845 3-Dec-1846 James Clark  
3-Dec-1846 4-Dec-1850 Ansel Briggs (b. 1806, d. 1881, Democrat)
4-Dec-1850 9-Dec-1854 Stephen P. Hempstead (b. 1812, d. 1883, Democrat)
9-Dec-1854 13-Jan-1858 James Wilson Grimes (b. 1816, d. 1872, Whig)
13-Jan-1858 11-Jan-1860 Ralph Phillips Lowe (b. 1805, d. 1883, Republican)
11-Jan-1860 14-Jan-1864 Samuel Jordan Kirkwood (1st time, b. 1813, d. 1894, Republican)
14-Jan-1864 16-Jan-1868 William Milo Stone (b. 1827, d. 1893, Republican)
16-Jan-1868 11-Jan-1872 Samuel Merrill (b. 1822, d. 1899, Republican)
11-Jan-1872 13-Jan-1876 Cyrus Clay Carpenter (b. 1829, d. 1898, Republican)
13-Jan-1876 1-Feb-1877 Samuel Jordan Kirkwood (2nd time, Republican)
1-Feb-1877 17-Jan-1878 Joshua Giddings Newbold (b. 1830, d. 1903, Republican)
17-Jan-1878 12-Jan-1882 John Henry Gear (b. 1825, d. 1900, Republican)
12-Jan-1882 14-Jan-1886 Buren Robinson Sherman (b. 1836, d. 1904, Republican)
14-Jan-1886 27-Feb-1890 William Larrabee (b. 1832, d. 1912, Republican)
27-Feb-1890 11-Jan-1894 Horace Boies (b. 1827, d. 1923, Democrat)
11-Jan-1894 16-Jan-1896 Frank Darr Jackson (b. 1854, d. 1938, Republican)
16-Jan-1896 13-Jan-1898 Francis Marion Drake (b. 1830, d. 1903, Republican)
13-Jan-1898 16-Jan-1902 Leslie M. Shaw (b. 1848, d. 1932, Republican)
16-Jan-1902 24-Nov-1908 Albert Baird Cummins (b. 1850, d. 1926, Republican)
24-Nov-1908 14-Jan-1909 Warren Garst (b. 1850, d. 1924, Republican)
14-Jan-1909 16-Jan-1913 Beryl Franklin Carroll (b. 1860, d. 1939, Republican)
16-Jan-1913 11-Jan-1917 George W. Clarke (b. 1852, d. 1936, Republican)
11-Jan-1917 13-Jan-1921 William Lloyd Harding (b. 1877, d. 1934, Republican)
13-Jan-1921 15-Jan-1925 Nathan Edward Kendall (b. 1868, d. 1936, Republican)
15-Jan-1925 15-Jan-1931 John Hammill (b. 1875, d. 1936, Republican)
15-Jan-1931 12-Jan-1933 Daniel Webster Turner (b. 1877, d. 1969, Republican)
12-Jan-1933 14-Jan-1937 Clyde LaVerne Herring (b. 1879, d. 1945, Democrat)
14-Jan-1937 12-Jan-1939 Nelson George Kraschel (b. 1889, d. 1957, Democrat)
12-Jan-1939 14-Jan-1943 George A. Wilson (b. 1884, d. 1953, Republican)
14-Jan-1943 11-Jan-1945 Bourke B. Hickenlooper (b. 1896, d. 1971, Republican)
11-Jan-1945 13-Jan-1949 Robert D. Blue (b. 1898, d. 1989, Republican)
13-Jan-1949 21-Nov-1954 William S. Beardsley (b. 1901, d. 1954, Republican)
22-Nov-1954 13-Jan-1955 Leo Elthon (b. 1898, d. 1967, Republican)
13-Jan-1955 17-Jan-1957 Leo A. Hoegh (b. 1908, d. 2000, Republican)
17-Jan-1957 12-Jan-1961 Herschel C. Loveless (b. 1911, d. 1989, Democrat)
12-Jan-1961 17-Jan-1963 Norman A. Erbe (b. 1919, d. 2000, Republican)
17-Jan-1963 1-Jan-1969 Harold Hughes (b. 1922, d. 1996, Democrat)
1-Jan-1969 16-Jan-1969 Robert D. Fulton (b. 1929, Democrat)
16-Jan-1969 14-Jan-1983 Robert D. Ray (b. 1928, Republican)
14-Jan-1983 15-Jan-1999 Terry E. Branstad (b. 1946, Republican)
15-Jan-1999 12-Jan-2007 Thomas Vilsack (b. 1950, Democrat)
12-Jan-2007 14-Jan-2011 Chet Culver (b. 1966, Democrat)
14-Jan-2011 -- Terry E. Branstad (b. 1946, Republican)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Black Conservatives

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.