This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
UK Minister of Defence


Defence Minister in the Government of the United Kingdom.

Position active 1940 to 1964, became UK Secretary of State for Defence.

1940 1945 Winston Churchill
1945 1946 Clement Attlee
1946 1950 A. V. Alexander
1950 1951 Manny Shinwell
1951 1952 Winston Churchill
1952 1954 Earl Alexander of Tunis
1954 1955 Harold Macmillan
1955 1955 Selwyn Lloyd
1955 1956 Walter Monckton
1956 1957 Antony Head
1957 1959 Duncan Sandys
1959 1962 Harold Watkinson
1962 1964 Peter Thorneycroft

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Early 90s Hacker Culture Touchstones

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.