This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of Georgia


12-Feb-1733 11-Jul-1743 James Edward Oglethorpe Trustee
11-Jul-1743 8-Apr-1751 William Stephens President
8-Apr-1751 1752 Henry Parker President
6-Dec-1752 30-Oct-1754 Patrick Graham President
30-Oct-1754 16-Feb-1757 John Reynolds
16-Feb-1757 31-Oct-1760 Henry Ellis
31-Oct-1760 11-Jul-1782 James Wright
22-Jan-1776 22-Feb-1777 Archibald Bulloch Whig
4-Mar-1777 8-May-1777 Button Gwinnett acting President, Whig
8-May-1777 10-Jan-1778 John Adam Treutlen Whig
10-Jan-1778 21-Jan-1779 John Houstoun 1st time, Whig
21-Jan-1779 27-Jul-1779 William Glascock acting
27-Jul-1779 6-Aug-1779 Seth John Cuthbert acting
6-Aug-1779 Nov-1779 John Wereat acting, Whig
4-Nov-1779 Dec-1779 George Walton 1st time, Whig/Federalist
3-Dec-1779 18-Feb-1780 Richard Howley Whig
18-Feb-1780 18-Aug-1781 Stephen Heard Whig
18-Aug-1781 3-Jan-1782 Nathan Brownson Whig
3-Jan-1782 8-Jan-1783 John Martin Non-party
8-Jan-1783 9-Jan-1784 Lyman Hall Non-party
9-Jan-1784 6-Jan-1785 John Houstoun 2nd time, Non-party
6-Jan-1785 9-Jan-1786 Samuel Elbert Non-party
9-Jan-1786 9-Jan-1787 Edward Telfair 1st time, Non-party
9-Jan-1787 9-Jan-1788 George Mathews 1st time, Non-party
15-Jan-1788 7-Jan-1789 George Handley Non-party
7-Jan-1789 9-Nov-1789 George Walton 2nd time, Democrat-Republican
9-Nov-1789 7-Nov-1793 Edward Telfair 2nd time, Democrat-Republican
7-Nov-1793 15-Jan-1796 George Mathews 2nd time, Democrat-Republican
15-Jan-1796 12-Jan-1798 Jared Irwin 1st time, Democrat-Republican
12-Jan-1798 3-Mar-1801 James Jackson Democrat-Republican
3-Mar-1801 7-Nov-1801 David Emanuel acting, Democrat-Republican
7-Nov-1801 4-Nov-1802 Josiah Tattnall, Jr. Democrat-Republican
4-Nov-1802 23-Sep-1806 John Milledge Democrat-Republican
23-Sep-1806 10-Nov-1809 Jared Irwin 2nd time, acting, Democrat-Republican
10-Nov-1809 5-Nov-1813 David Brydie Mitchell 1st time, Democrat-Republican
5-Nov-1813 20-Nov-1815 Peter Early Democrat-Republican
20-Nov-1815 4-Mar-1817 David Brydie Mitchell 2nd time, Democrat-Republican
4-Mar-1817 24-Oct-1819 William Rabun Democrat-Republican
24-Oct-1819 5-Nov-1819 Matthew Talbot acting,Democrat-Republican
5-Nov-1819 7-Nov-1823 John Clark Democrat-Republican
7-Nov-1823 7-Nov-1827 George Michael Troup Democrat-Republican
7-Nov-1827 4-Nov-1829 John Forsyth Democrat-Republican
4-Nov-1829 9-Nov-1831 George Rockingham Gilmer 1st time, Democrat-Republican
9-Nov-1831 4-Nov-1835 Wilson Lumpkin Union-Democrat
4-Nov-1835 8-Nov-1837 William Schley Union-Democrat
8-Nov-1837 6-Nov-1839 George Rockingham Gilmer 2nd time, Whig
6-Nov-1839 8-Nov-1843 Charles James McDonald Democrat
8-Nov-1843 3-Nov-1847 Geroge Walker Crawford Whig
3-Nov-1847 5-Nov-1851 George Washington Towns Democrat
5-Nov-1851 9-Nov-1853 Howell Cobb Union-Democrat
9-Nov-1853 6-Nov-1857 Herschel Vespasian Johnson Union-Democrat
6-Nov-1857 17-Jun-1865 Joseph E. Brown Democrat
17-Jun-1865 14-Dec-1865 James Johnson Democrat
14-Dec-1865 13-Jan-1868 Charles Jones Jenkins Democrat
13-Jan-1868 4-Jul-1868 Thomas H. Ruger Military Governor
4-Jul-1868 30-Oct-1871 Rufus Brown Bullock Republican
30-Oct-1871 12-Jan-1872 Benjamin Conley acting, Republican
12-Jan-1872 12-Jan-1877 James Milton Smith Democrat
12-Jan-1877 4-Nov-1882 Alfred Holt Colquitt Democrat
4-Nov-1882 4-Mar-1883 Alexander Hamilton Stephens Democrat
5-Mar-1883 10-May-1883 James Stoddard Boynton acting, Democrat
10-May-1883 9-Nov-1886 Henry Dickerson McDaniel Democrat
9-Nov-1886 8-Nov-1890 John Brown Gordon Democrat
8-Nov-1890 27-Oct-1894 William Jonathan Northen Democrat
27-Oct-1894 29-Oct-1898 William Yates Atkinson Democrat
29-Oct-1898 25-Oct-1902 Allen Daniel Candler Democrat
25-Oct-1902 29-Jun-1907 Joseph Meriwether Terrell Democrat
29-Jun-1907 26-Jun-1909 Hoke Smith 1st time, Democrat
26-Jun-1909 1-Jul-1911 Joseph Mackey Brown 1st time, Democrat
1-Jul-1911 16-Nov-1911 Hoke Smith 2nd time, Democrat
16-Nov-1911 25-Jan-1912 John Marshall Slaton 1st time, Democrat
25-Jan-1912 28-Jun-1913 Joseph Mackey Brown 2nd time, Democrat
28-Jun-1913 26-Jun-1915 John Marshall Slaton 2nd time, Democrat
26-Jun-1915 30-Jun-1917 Nathaniel Edwin Harris Democrat
30-Jun-1917 25-Jun-1921 Hugh M. Dorsey Democrat
25-Jun-1921 30-Jun-1923 Thomas W. Hardwick Democrat
30-Jun-1923 25-Jun-1927 Clifford M. Walker Democrat
25-Jun-1927 27-Jun-1931 Lamartine G. Hardman Democrat
27-Jun-1931 10-Jan-1933 Richard B. Russell Democrat
10-Jan-1933 12-Jan-1937 Eugene Talmadge 1st time, Democrat
12-Jan-1937 14-Jan-1941 Eurith D. Rivers Democrat
14-Jan-1941 12-Jan-1943 Eugene Talmadge 2nd time, Democrat
12-Jan-1943 14-Jan-1947 Ellis Arnall Democrat
14-Jan-1947 18-Mar-1947 Herman Talmadge 1st time, Democrat
18-Mar-1947 17-Nov-1948 Melvin E. Thompson acting, Democrat
17-Nov-1948 11-Jan-1955 Herman Talmadge 2nd time, Democrat
11-Jan-1955 13-Jan-1959 Marvin Griffin Democrat
13-Jan-1959 15-Jan-1963 Ernest Vandiver Democrat
15-Jan-1963 11-Jan-1967 Carl Sanders Democrat
11-Jan-1967 12-Jan-1971 Lester Maddox Democrat
12-Jan-1971 14-Jan-1975 Jimmy Carter Democrat
14-Jan-1975 11-Jan-1983 George Busbee Democrat
11-Jan-1983 13-Jan-1991 Joe Frank Harris Democrat
13-Jan-1991 11-Jan-1999 Zell Miller Democrat
11-Jan-1999 13-Jan-2003 Roy Barnes Democrat
13-Jan-2003 10-Jan-2011 Sonny Perdue Republican
10-Jan-2011 -- Nathan Deal Republican

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


The Grey Lady

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.