This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of Missouri


7-Dec-1812 Jun-1813 Frederick Bates (acting, 1st time)
Jun-1813 20-Sep-1820 William Clark (b. 1770, d. 1838)
20-Sep-1820 15-Nov-1824 Alexander McNair (b. 1775, d. 1826, Democrat)
15-Nov-1824 4-Aug-1825 Frederick Bates (2nd time, Democrat)
4-Aug-1825 20-Jan-1826 Abraham J. Williams (acting, b. 1781, d. 1839, Democrat)
20-Jan-1826 14-Nov-1832 John Miller (b. 1781, d. 1846, Democrat)
14-Nov-1832 13-Sep-1836 Daniel Dunklin (b. 1790, d. 1844, Democrat)
23-Nov-1836 16-Nov-1840 Lilburn Wycliffe Boggs (b. 1796, d. 1860, Democrat)
16-Nov-1840 9-Feb-1844 Thomas Reynolds (b. 1796, d. 1844, Democrat)
9-Feb-1844 20-Nov-1844 Meredith Miles Marmaduke (acting, b. 1791, d. 1864, Democrat)
20-Nov-1844 27-Dec-1848 John Cummins Edwards (b. 1804, d. 1888, Democrat)
27-Dec-1848 3-Jan-1853 Austin Augustus King (b. 1802, d. 1870, Democrat)
3-Jan-1853 5-Jan-1857 Sterling Price (b. 1809, d. 1867, Democrat)
5-Jan-1857 27-Feb-1857 Trusten Polk (b. 1811, d. 1876, Democrat)
27-Feb-1857 22-Oct-1857 Hancock Lee Jackson (acting, b. 1796, d. 1876, Democrat)
22-Oct-1857 3-Jan-1861 Robert Marcellus Stewart (b. 1815, d. 1871, Democrat)
3-Jan-1861 30-Jul-1861 Claiborne Fox Jackson (b. 1806, d. 1862, Democrat)
30-Jul-1861 31-Jan-1864 Hamilton Rowan Gamble (acting, b. 1798, d. 1864, Uni)
1862 1865 Thomas Caute Reynolds (Confederate, in exile, b. 1821, d. 1887, Democrat)
31-Jan-1864 2-Jan-1865 Willard Preble Hall (acting, b. 1820, d. 1882, Uni)
2-Jan-1865 12-Jan-1869 Thomas Clement Fletcher (b. 1827, d. 1899, Republican)
12-Jan-1869 9-Jan-1871 Joseph Washington McClurg (b. 1818, d. 1900, Republican)
9-Jan-1871 8-Jan-1873 B. Gratz Brown (b. 1826, d. 1885, Lib)
8-Jan-1873 12-Jan-1875 Silas Woodson (b. 1819, d. 1896, Democrat)
12-Jan-1875 8-Jan-1877 Charles Henry Hardin (b. 1820, d. 1892, Democrat)
8-Jan-1877 10-Jan-1881 John Sith Phelps (b. 1814, d. 1886, Democrat)
10-Jan-1881 12-Jan-1885 Thomas Theodore Crittenden (b. 1832, d. 1909, Democrat)
12-Jan-1885 28-Dec-1887 John Sappington Marmaduke (b. 1833, d. 1887, Democrat)
28-Dec-1887 14-Jan-1889 Albert Pickett Morehouse (acting, b. 1835, d. 1891, Democrat)
14-Jan-1889 9-Jan-1893 David Rowland Francis (b. 1850, d. 1927, Democrat)
9-Jan-1893 11-Jan-1897 William J. Stone (b. 1848, d. 1918, Democrat)
11-Jan-1897 14-Jan-1901 Lawrence Vest "Lon" Stephens (b. 1858, d. 1923, Democrat)
14-Jan-1901 9-Jan-1905 Alexander Monroe Dockery (b. 1845, d. 1926, Democrat)
9-Jan-1905 11-Jan-1909 Joseph W. Folk (b. 1869, d. 1923, Democrat)
11-Jan-1909 13-Jan-1913 Herbert Spencer Hadley (b. 1872, d. 1927, Republican)
13-Jan-1913 8-Jan-1917 Elliot Woolfork Major (b. 1864, d. 1949, Democrat)
8-Jan-1917 10-Jan-1921 Frederick D. Gardner (b. 1869, d. 1933, Democrat)
10-Jan-1921 12-Jan-1925 Arthur M. Hyde (b. 1877, d. 1947, Republican)
12-Jan-1925 14-Jan-1929 Samuel Aaron Baker (b. 1874, d. 1933, Republican)
14-Jan-1929 9-Jan-1933 Henry S. Caulfield (b. 1873, d. 1966, Republican)
9-Jan-1933 11-Jan-1937 Guy Brasfield Park (b. 1872, d. 1946, Democrat)
11-Jan-1937 13-Jan-1941 Lloyd C. Stark (b. 1886, d. 1972, Democrat)
13-Jan-1941 8-Dec-1945 Forrest C. Donnell (b. 1884, d. 1980, Republican)
8-Dec-1945 10-Jan-1949 Phil M. Donnelly (1st time, b. 1891, d. 1961, Democrat)
10-Jan-1949 12-Jan-1953 Forrest Smith (b. 1886, d. 1962, Democrat)
12-Jan-1953 14-Jan-1957 Phil M. Donnelly (2nd time, Democrat)
14-Jan-1957 9-Jan-1961 James T. Blair, Jr. (b. 1902, d. 1962, Democrat)
9-Jan-1961 11-Jan-1965 John M. Dalton (b. 1900, d. 1972, Democrat)
11-Jan-1965 8-Jan-1973 Warren E. Hearnes (b. 1923, Democrat)
8-Jan-1973 10-Jan-1977 Kit Bond (1st time, b. 1939, Republican)
10-Jan-1977 12-Jan-1981 Joseph P. Teasdale (b. 1936, Democrat)
12-Jan-1981 14-Jan-1985 Kit Bond (2nd time, Republican)
14-Jan-1985 11-Jan-1993 John Ashcroft (b. 1942, Republican)
11-Jan-1993 16-Oct-2000 Mel Carnahan (b. 1934, d. 2000, Democrat)
17-Oct-2000 8-Jan-2001 Roger B. Wilson (acting, b. 1948, Democrat)
8-Jan-2001 Jan-2005 Bob Holden (b. 1949, Democrat)
10-Jan-2005 12-Jan-2009 Matt Blunt (b. 1970, Republican)
12-Jan-2009 9-Jan-2017 Jay Nixon (b. 1956, Democrat)
9-Jan-2017 -- Eric Greitens (b. 1974, Republican)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2017 Soylent Communications


Fair Use

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.