This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of Pennsylvania


1681 1693 William Penn Lord (1st time)
1693 1718 William Penn Lord (2nd time)
1712 1727 Hannah Penn Acting Lord
1718 1746 John Penn Lord
1718 21-Mar-1775 Thomas Penn Lord
1718 1771 Richard Penn Lord
Jun-1681 24-Oct-1682 William Markham (1st time)
24-Oct-1682 Jun-1684 William Penn (1st time)
Aug-1684 18-Dec-1688 Thomas Lloyd (1st time)
18-Dec-1688 2-Jan-1690 John Blackwell  
2-Jan-1690 26-Apr-1693 Thomas Lloyd (2nd time)
27-Apr-1693 Dec-1699 William Markham (2nd time)
Dec-1699 Nov-1701 William Penn (2nd time)
14-Nov-1701 20-Apr-1703 Andrew Hamilton  
4-May-1703 3-Feb-1704 Edward Shippen  
3-Feb-1704 1-Feb-1709 John Evans  
1-Feb-1709 31-May-1717 Charles Gookin  
31-May-1717 22-Jun-1726 Sir William Keith  
22-Jun-1726 5-Aug-1736 Patrick Gordon  
5-Aug-1736 1-Jun-1738 James Logan  
1-Jun-1738 29-May-1747 George Thomas  
6-Jun-1747 23-Nov-1748 Anthony Palmer  
23-Nov-1748 3-Oct-1754 James Hamilton (1st time)
3-Oct-1754 20-Aug-1756 Robert Hunter Morris  
20-Aug-1756 17-Nov-1759 William Denny  
18-Nov-1759 31-Oct-1763 James Hamilton (2nd time)
31-Oct-1763 4-May-1771 John Penn (1st time)
6-May-1771 16-Oct-1771 James Hamilton (3rd time)
16-Oct-1771 30-Aug-1773 Richard Penn  
30-Aug-1773 Jul-1776 John Penn (2nd time)
4-Jul-1776   Owen Biddle Chairman (1st time)
4-Jul-1776 8-Jul-1776 George Clymer Chairman
8-Jul-1776   Owen Biddle Chairman (2nd time)
9-Jul-1776   James Mease Chairman (1st time)
10-Jul-1776   Owen Biddle Chairman (3rd time)
11-Jul-1776   Alexander Wilcocks Chairman (1st time)
12-Jul-1776   Samuel Howell Chairman
15-Jul-1776   James Mease Chairman (2nd time)
16-Jul-1776   Owen Biddle Chairman (4th time)
17-Jul-1776   James Biddle Chairman
19-Jul-1776 22-Jul-1776 Alexander Wilcocks Chairman (2nd time)
24-Jul-1776 26-Jul-1776 David Rittenhouse Chairman (1st time)
27-Jul-1776   Samuel Morris Chairman (1st time)
29-Jul-1776 31-Jul-1776 David Rittenhouse Chairman (2nd time)
1-Aug-1776   Samuel Morris Chairman (2nd time)
2-Aug-1776   Thomas Wharton Chairman
5-Aug-1776 6-Aug-1776 David Rittenhouse Chairman (3rd time)
7-Aug-1776 4-Mar-1777 Thomas Wharton President
4-Mar-1777 23-May-1778 Thomas Wharton President
23-May-1778 1-Dec-1778 George Bryan Acting President
1-Dec-1778 8-Oct-1781 Joseph Reed President
8-Oct-1781 8-Oct-1782 William Moore President
8-Oct-1782 7-Nov-1782 James Potter Acting President
7-Nov-1782 10-Oct-1785 John Dickinson President
10-Oct-1785 18-Oct-1785 Charles Biddle Acting President
18-Oct-1785 14-Oct-1788 Benjamin Franklin President
14-Oct-1788 5-Nov-1788 David Redick Acting President
5-Nov-1788 21-Dec-1790 Thomas Mifflin President
21-Dec-1790 17-Dec-1799 Thomas Mifflin Federalist
17-Dec-1799 20-Dec-1808 Thomas McKean Democrat-Republican
20-Dec-1808 16-Dec-1817 Simon Snyder Democrat-Republican
16-Dec-1817 19-Dec-1820 William Findlay Democrat-Republican
19-Dec-1820 16-Dec-1825 Joseph Hiester Democrat
16-Dec-1825 15-Dec-1829 John A. Shulze Democrat-Republican
15-Dec-1829 15-Dec-1835 George Wolf Democrat-Republican
15-Dec-1835 15-Jan-1839 Joseph Ritner Anti-Masonic Party
15-Jan-1839 21-Jan-1845 David R. Porter Democrat
21-Jan-1845 9-Jul-1848 Francis R. Shunk Democrat
26-Jul-1848 20-Jan-1852 William F. Johnston Whig
20-Jan-1852 16-Jan-1855 William Bigler Democrat
16-Jan-1855 19-Jan-1858 James Pollock Democrat
19-Jan-1858 15-Jan-1861 William Fisher Packer Democrat
15-Jan-1861 15-Jan-1867 Andrew Gregg Curtin Republican
15-Jan-1867 21-Jan-1873 John White Geary Republican
21-Jan-1873 21-Jan-1879 John Frederick Hartranft Republican
21-Jan-1879 16-Jan-1883 Henry Martyn Hoyt Republican
16-Jan-1883 18-Jan-1887 Robert Emory Pattison Democrat (1st time)
18-Jan-1887 20-Jan-1891 James Addams Beaver Republican
20-Jan-1891 15-Jan-1895 Robert Emory Pattison Democrat (2nd time)
15-Jan-1895 17-Jan-1899 Daniel H. Hastings Republican
17-Jan-1899 20-Jan-1903 William A. Stone Republican
20-Jan-1903 15-Jan-1907 Samuel W. Pennypacker Republican
15-Jan-1907 17-Jan-1911 Edwin S. Stuart Republican
17-Jan-1911 19-Jan-1915 John K. Tener Republican
19-Jan-1915 21-Jan-1919 Martin G. Brumbaugh Republican
21-Jan-1919 16-Jan-1923 William C. Sproul Republican
16-Jan-1923 18-Jan-1927 Gifford Pinchot Republican (1st time)
18-Jan-1927 20-Jan-1931 John S. Fisher Republican
20-Jan-1931 15-Jan-1935 Gifford Pinchot Republican (2nd time)
15-Jan-1935 17-Jan-1939 George H. Earle Democrat
17-Jan-1939 19-Jan-1943 Arthur H. James Republican
19-Jan-1943 2-Jan-1947 Edward Martin Republican
2-Jan-1947 21-Jan-1947 John C. Bell, Jr. Republican
21-Jan-1947 16-Jan-1951 James H. Duff Republican
16-Jan-1951 18-Jan-1955 John S. Fine Republican
18-Jan-1955 20-Jan-1959 George M. Leader Democrat
20-Jan-1959 15-Jan-1963 David L. Lawrence Democrat
15-Jan-1963 17-Jan-1967 William W. Scranton Republican
17-Jan-1967 19-Jan-1971 Raymond P. Shafer Republican
19-Jan-1971 16-Jan-1979 Milton J. Shapp Democrat
16-Jan-1979 20-Jan-1987 Dick Thornburgh Republican
20-Jan-1987 17-Jan-1995 Robert P. Casey Democrat
17-Jan-1995 5-Oct-2001 Tom Ridge Republican
5-Oct-2001 21-Jan-2003 Mark S. Schweiker Republican
21-Jan-2003 18-Jan-2011 Ed Rendell Democrat
18-Jan-2011 20-Jan-2015 Tom Corbett Republican
20-Jan-2015 -- Tom Wolf Democrat

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Google Board Politics

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.