This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of Maine


15-Mar-1820 28-May-1821 William King (b. 1768, d. 1852, Democrat-Republican)
29-May-1821 5-Dec-1821 William D. Williamson (b. 1779, d. 1846, Democrat-Republican)
5-Dec-1821 2-Jan-1822 Benjamin Ames (b. 1778, d. 1835, Democrat-Republican)
2-Jan-1822 4-Jan-1822 Daniel Rose (b. 1772, d. 1833, Democrat-Republican)
5-Jan-1822 3-Jan-1827 Albion K. Parris (b. 1788, d. 1857, Democrat-Republican)
3-Jan-1827 8-Oct-1829 Enoch Lincoln (b. 1788, d. 1829, Democrat-Republican)
12-Oct-1829 5-Feb-1830 Nathan Cutler (acting, b. 1775, d. 1861, Democrat-Republican)
5-Feb-1830 10-Feb-1830 Joshua Hall (acting, b. 1768, d. 1862, N-R)
10-Feb-1830 5-Jan-1831 Jonathan G. Hunton (b. 1781, d. 1851, N-R)
5-Jan-1831 1-Jan-1834 Samual E. Smith (b. 1788, d. 1860, Democrat-Republican)
1-Jan-1834 3-Jan-1838 Robert P. Dunlap (b. 1794, d. 1859, Democrat)
3-Jan-1838 2-Jan-1839 Edward Kent (1st time, b. 1802, d. 1877, Whig)
2-Jan-1839 6-Jan-1841 John Fairfield (1st time, b. 1797, d. 1847, Democrat)
12-Jan-1841 13-Jan-1841 Richard H. Vose (b. 1803, d. 1864)
13-Jan-1841 5-Jan-1842 Edward Kent (2nd time, Whig)
5-Jan-1842 7-Mar-1843 John Fairfield (2nd time, Democrat)
7-Mar-1843 1-Jan-1844 Edward Kavanaugh (b. 1795, d. 1844, Democrat)
2-Jan-1844 3-Jan-1844 David Dunn (b. 1811, d. 1894, Democrat)
3-Jan-1844 5-Jan-1844 John W. Dana (1st time, b. 1808, d. 1867, Democrat)
5-Jan-1844 12-May-1847 Hugh J. Anderson (b. 1801, d. 1881, Democrat)
13-May-1847 8-May-1850 John W. Dana (2nd time, Democrat)
9-May-1850 5-Jan-1853 John Hubbard (b. 1794, d. 1869, Democrat)
5-Jan-1853 3-Jan-1855 William G. Crosby (b. 1805, d. 1881, Whig)
3-Jan-1855 2-Jan-1856 Anson P. Morrill (b. 1803, d. 1887, Know-Nothing)
2-Jan-1856 8-Jan-1857 Samuel E. Wells (b. 1801, d. 1868, Democrat)
8-Jan-1857 25-Feb-1857 Hannibal Hamlin (b. 1809, d. 1891, Republican)
26-Feb-1857 8-Jan-1858 Joseph H. Williams (acting, b. 1814, d. 1896, Republican)
8-Jan-1858 2-Jan-1861 Lot M. Morrill (b. 1813, d. 1883, Republican)
2-Jan-1861 7-Jan-1863 Israel Washburn, Jr. (b. 1813, d. 1883, Republican)
7-Jan-1863 6-Jan-1864 Abner Coburn (b. 1803, d. 1885, Republican)
6-Jan-1864 2-Jan-1867 Samuel Cony (b. 1811, d. 1870, Republican)
2-Jan-1867 4-Jan-1871 Joshua L. Chamberlain (b. 1828, d. 1914, Republican)
4-Jan-1871 7-Jan-1874 Sidney Perham (b. 1819, d. 1907, Republican)
7-Jan-1874 5-Jan-1876 Nelson Dingley, Jr. (b. 1832, d. 1899, Republican)
5-Jan-1876 8-Jan-1879 Seldon Connor (b. 1839, d. 1917, Republican)
8-Jan-1879 17-Jan-1880 Alonzo Garcelon (b. 1813, d. 1906, Democrat)
17-Jan-1880 13-Jan-1881 Daniel F. Davis (b. 1843, d. 1897, Republican)
13-Jan-1881 3-Jan-1883 Harris M. Plaisted (b. 1828, d. 1898, Fus)
3-Jan-1883 5-Jan-1887 Frederick Robie (b. 1822, d. 1912, Republican)
5-Jan-1887 15-Dec-1887 Joseph R. Bodwell (b. 1818, d. 1887, Republican)
16-Dec-1887 2-Jan-1889 Sebastian S. Marble (acting, b. 1817, d. 1902, Republican)
2-Jan-1889 4-Jan-1893 Edwin C. Burleigh (b. 1843, d. 1916, Republican)
4-Jan-1893 6-Jan-1897 Henry B. Cleaves (b. 1840, d. 1912, Republican)
6-Jan-1897 2-Jan-1901 Llewellyn Powers (b. 1838, d. 1908, Republican)
2-Jan-1901 4-Jan-1905 John F. Hill (b. 1855, d. 1912, Republican)
4-Jan-1905 6-Jan-1909 William T. Cobb (b. 1857, d. 1937, Republican)
6-Jan-1909 4-Jan-1911 Bert M. Fernald (b. 1858, d. 1926, Republican)
4-Jan-1911 1-Jan-1913 Frederick W. Plaisted (b. 1865, d. 1943, Democrat)
1-Jan-1913 6-Jan-1915 William T. Haines (b. 1854, d. 1919, Republican)
6-Jan-1915 3-Jan-1917 Oakley C. Curtis (b. 1865, d. 1924, Democrat)
3-Jan-1917 5-Jan-1921 Carl E. Milliken (b. 1877, d. 1961, Republican)
5-Jan-1921 31-Jan-1921 Frederic H. Parkhurst (b. 1864, d. 1921, Republican)
31-Jan-1921 8-Jan-1925 Percival P. Baxter (b. 1876, d. 1969, Republican)
8-Jan-1925 2-Jan-1929 Owen Brewster (b. 1888, d. 1961, Republican)
2-Jan-1929 4-Jan-1933 William T. Gardiner (b. 1892, d. 1953, Republican)
4-Jan-1933 6-Jan-1937 Louis J. Brann (b. 1876, d. 1948, Democrat)
6-Jan-1937 1-Jan-1941 Lewis O. Barrows (b. 1893, d. 1967, Republican)
1-Jan-1941 3-Jan-1945 Sumner Sewall (b. 1897, d. 1965, Republican)
3-Jan-1945 5-Jan-1949 Horace A. Hildreth (b. 1902, d. 1988, Republican)
5-Jan-1949 25-Dec-1952 Frederick G. Payne (b. 1904, d. 1978, Republican)
25-Dec-1952 6-Jan-1953 Burton M. Cross (1st time, b. 1902, d. 1998, Republican)
6-Jan-1953 7-Jan-1953 Nathaniel M. Haskell (b. 1912, d. 1983, Republican)
7-Jan-1953 5-Jan-1955 Burton M. Cross (2nd time, Republican)
5-Jan-1955 2-Jan-1959 Ed Muskie (b. 1914, d. 1996, Democrat)
2-Jan-1959 7-Jan-1959 Robert N. Haskell (b. 1903, d. 1987, Republican)
7-Jan-1959 30-Dec-1959 Clinton A. Clauson (b. 1895, d. 1959, Democrat)
30-Dec-1959 5-Jan-1967 John H. Reed (b. 1921, Republican)
5-Jan-1967 2-Jan-1975 Kenneth M. Curtis (b. 1931, Democrat)
2-Jan-1975 3-Jan-1979 James B. Longley (b. 1924, d. 1980, independent)
3-Jan-1979 7-Jan-1987 Joseph E. Brennan (b. 1934, Democrat)
7-Jan-1987 5-Jan-1995 John R. McKernan, Jr. (b. 1948, Republican)
5-Jan-1995 8-Jan-2003 Angus King (b. 1944, independent)
8-Jan-2003 -- John Baldacci (b. 1955, Democrat)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.