This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of Ohio


9-Jul-1788 14-Dec-1802 Arthur St. Clair (Military Governor, b. 1736, d. 1818)
14-Dec-1802 3-Mar-1803 Charles Willing Byrd (b. 1770, d. 1828)
3-Mar-1803 4-Mar-1807 Edward Tiffin (b. 1766, d. 1829, Democrat-Republican)
4-Mar-1807 12-Dec-1808 Thomas Kirker (acting, b. 1760, d. 1837, Democrat-Republican)
12-Dec-1808 8-Dec-1810 Samuel H. Huntington (b. 1765, d. 1817, Democrat-Republican)
8-Dec-1810 24-Mar-1814 Return Jonathan Meigs, Jr. (b. 1764, d. 1825, Democrat-Republican)
24-Mar-1814 8-Dec-1814 Othneil Looker (acting, b. 1757, d. 1845, Democrat-Republican)
8-Dec-1814 14-Dec-1818 Thomas Worthington (b. 1773, d. 1827, Democrat-Republican)
14-Dec-1818 4-Jan-1822 Ethan Allan Brown (b. 1766, d. 1852, Democrat-Republican)
4-Jan-1822 28-Dec-1822 Allen Trimble (1st time, acting, b. 1783, d. 1870, Democrat-Republican)
28-Dec-1822 19-Dec-1826 Jeremiah Morrow (b. 1771, d. 1852, Democrat-Republican)
19-Dec-1826 18-Dec-1830 Allen Trimble (2nd time, N-R)
18-Dec-1830 7-Dec-1832 Duncan McArthur (b. 1772, d. 1839, N-R)
7-Dec-1832 12-Dec-1836 Robert Lucas (b. 1781, d. 1853, Democrat)
12-Dec-1836 13-Dec-1838 Joseph Vance (b. 1786, d. 1852, Whig)
13-Dec-1838 16-Dec-1840 Wilson Shannon (1st time, b. 1802, d. 1865, Democrat)
16-Dec-1840 14-Dec-1842 Thomas Corwin (b. 1794, d. 1865, Whig)
14-Dec-1842 15-Apr-1844 Wilson Shannon (2nd time, Democrat)
15-Apr-1844 3-Dec-1844 Thomas Welles Bartley (acting, b. 1812, d. 1885, Democrat)
3-Dec-1844 12-Dec-1846 Mordecai Bartley (b. 1783, d. 1870, Whig)
12-Dec-1846 22-Jan-1849 William Bebb (b. 1801, d. 1873, Whig)
22-Jan-1849 12-Dec-1850 Seabury Ford (b. 1801, d. 1855, Whig)
12-Dec-1850 13-Jul-1853 Reuben Wood (b. 1792, d. 1864, Democrat)
13-Jul-1853 14-Jan-1856 William Medill (b. 1802, d. 1865, Democrat)
14-Jan-1856 9-Jan-1860 Salmon P. Chase (b. 1808, d. 1873, Republican)
9-Jan-1860 13-Jan-1862 William Dennison, Jr. (b. 1815, d. 1882, Republican)
13-Jan-1862 11-Jan-1864 David Tod (b. 1805, d. 1868, Uni)
11-Jan-1864 29-Aug-1865 John Brough (b. 1811, d. 1865, Uni)
29-Aug-1865 8-Jan-1866 Charles Anderson (acting, b. 1814, d. 1895, Republican)
8-Jan-1866 13-Jan-1868 Jacob Dolson Cox (b. 1828, d. 1900, Republican)
13-Jan-1868 8-Jan-1872 Rutherford B. Hayes (1st time, b. 1822, d. 1893, Republican)
8-Jan-1872 12-Jan-1874 Edward Follansbee Noyes (b. 1832, d. 1890, Republican)
12-Jan-1874 10-Jan-1876 William Allen (b. 1803, d. 1879, Democrat)
10-Jan-1876 2-Mar-1877 Rutherford B. Hayes (2nd time, Republican)
2-Mar-1877 14-Jan-1878 Thomas Lowry Young (acting, b. 1832, d. 1888, Republican)
14-Jan-1878 12-Jan-1880 Richard Moore Bishop (b. 1812, d. 1893, Democrat)
12-Jan-1880 14-Jan-1884 Charles Foster (b. 1828, d. 1904, Republican)
14-Jan-1884 11-Jan-1886 George Hoadly (b. 1826, d. 1902, Democrat)
11-Jan-1886 13-Jan-1890 Joseph Benson Foraker (b. 1846, d. 1917, Republican)
13-Jan-1890 11-Jan-1892 James Edwin Campbell (b. 1843, d. 1924, Democrat)
11-Jan-1892 13-Jan-1896 William McKinley (b. 1843, d. 1901, Republican)
13-Jan-1896 8-Jan-1900 Asa Smith Bushnell (b. 1834, d. 1904, Republican)
8-Jan-1900 11-Jan-1904 George Kilborn Nash (b. 1842, d. 1904, Republican)
11-Jan-1904 8-Jan-1906 Myron T. Herrick (b. 1854, d. 1929, Republican)
8-Jan-1906 18-Jun-1906 John M. Pattison (b. 1847, d. 1906, Democrat)
18-Jun-1906 11-Jan-1909 Andrew Linter Harris (acting, b. 1835, d. 1915, Republican)
11-Jan-1909 13-Jan-1913 Judson Harmon (b. 1846, d. 1927, Democrat)
13-Jan-1913 11-Jan-1915 James M. Cox (1st time, b. 1870, d. 1957, Democrat)
11-Jan-1915 8-Jan-1917 Frank B. Willis (b. 1871, d. 1928, Republican)
8-Jan-1917 10-Jan-1921 James M. Cox (2nd time, Democrat)
10-Jan-1921 8-Jan-1923 Harry L. Davis (b. 1878, d. 1950, Republican)
8-Jan-1923 14-Jan-1929 A. Victor Donahey (b. 1873, d. 1946, Democrat)
14-Jan-1929 12-Jan-1931 Myers Y. Cooper (b. 1873, d. 1958, Republican)
12-Jan-1931 14-Jan-1935 George White (b. 1872, d. 1953, Democrat)
14-Jan-1935 9-Jan-1939 Martin L. Davey (b. 1884, d. 1946, Democrat)
9-Jan-1939 8-Jan-1945 John W. Bricker (b. 1893, d. 1986, Republican)
8-Jan-1945 13-Jan-1947 Frank J. Lausche (1st time, b. 1895, d. 1990, Democrat)
13-Jan-1947 10-Jan-1949 Thomas J. Herbert (b. 1894, d. 1974, Republican)
10-Jan-1949 3-Jan-1957 Frank J. Lausche (2nd time, Democrat)
3-Jan-1957 14-Jan-1957 John W. Brown (b. 1913, d. 1993, Republican)
14-Jan-1957 12-Jan-1959 C. William O'Neill (b. 1916, d. 1978, Republican)
12-Jan-1959 14-Jan-1963 Michael V. DiSalle (b. 1908, d. 1981, Democrat)
14-Jan-1963 11-Jan-1971 James A. Rhodes (1st time, b. 1909, d. 2001, Republican)
11-Jan-1971 13-Jan-1975 John J. Gilligan (b. 1921, Democrat)
13-Jan-1975 10-Jan-1983 James A. Rhodes (2nd time, Republican)
10-Jan-1983 14-Jan-1991 Richard Celeste (b. 1937, Democrat)
14-Jan-1991 31-Dec-1998 George Voinovich (b. 1936, Republican)
31-Dec-1998 11-Jan-1999 Nancy Hollister (b. 1949, Republican)
11-Jan-1999 8-Jan-2007 Bob Taft (b. 1942, Republican)
8-Jan-2007 -- Ted Strickland (b. 1941, Democrat)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.