This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of Connecticut


1662 15-Apr-1676 John Winthrop the Younger  
6-Apr-1676 26-Apr-1683 William Leete (b. 1613, d. 1683)
26-Apr-1683 1687 Robert Treat (1st time, b. 1624?, d. 1710)
1687 1689 Sir Edmund Andros (b. 1637, d. 1714)
1689 8-May-1698 Robert Treat (2nd time)
8-May-1698 27-Nov-1707 Fitz-John Winthrop (b. 1638, d. 1707)
27-Nov-1707 1-Oct-1724 Gurdon Saltonstall (b. 1666, d. 1724)
1-Oct-1724 11-Nov-1741 Joseph Talcott (b. 1669, d. 1741)
11-Nov-1741 6-Nov-1750 Jonathan Law (b. 1674, d. 1750)
6-Nov-1750 9-May-1754 Roger Wolcott (b. 1679, d. 1767)
9-May-1754 8-May-1766 Thomas Fitch (b. 1700, d. 1774)
8-May-1766 1-Oct-1769 William Pitkin (b. 1694, d. 1769)
1-Oct-1769 13-May-1784 Jonathan Trumbull (b. 1710, d. 1785)
13-May-1784 11-May-1786 Matthew Griswold (b. 1714, d. 1799, Federalist)
11-May-1786 5-Jan-1796 Samuel Huntington (b. 1731, d. 1796, Federalist)
5-Jan-1796 1-Dec-1797 Oliver Wolcott (b. 1726, d. 1797, Federalist)
1-Dec-1797 7-Aug-1809 Jonathan Trumbull, Jr. (b. 1740, d. 1809, Federalist)
7-Aug-1809 9-May-1811 John Treadwell (b. 1745, d. 1823, Federalist)
9-May-1811 25-Oct-1812 Roger Griswold (b. 1762, d. 1812, Federalist)
25-Oct-1812 8-May-1817 John Cotton Smith (b. 1765, d. 1845, Federalist)
8-May-1817 2-May-1827 Oliver Wolcott, Jr. (b. 1760, d. 1833, Tol)
2-May-1827 4-May-1831 Gideon Tomlinson (b. 1780, d. 1854, Democrat-Republican)
4-May-1831 1-May-1833 John Samuel Peters (b. 1772, d. 1858, N-R)
1-May-1833 7-May-1834 Henry Waggaman Edwards (1st time, b. 1779, d. 1847, Democrat)
7-May-1834 6-May-1835 Samuel A. Foote (b. 1780, d. 1846, Whig)
6-May-1835 2-May-1838 Henry Waggaman Edwards (2nd time, Democrat)
2-May-1838 4-May-1842 William Wolcott Ellsworth (b. 1791, d. 1868, Whig)
4-May-1842 1-May-1844 Chauncey Fitch Cleveland (b. 1799, d. 1887, Democrat)
1-May-1844 6-May-1846 Roger Sherman Baldwin (b. 1793, d. 1863, Whig)
6-May-1846 5-May-1847 Isaac Toucey (b. 1792, d. 1869, Democrat)
5-May-1847 2-May-1849 Clark Bissell (b. 1782, d. 1857, Whig)
2-May-1849 4-May-1850 Joseph Trumbull (b. 1782, d. 1861, Whig)
4-May-1850 13-Oct-1853 Thomas Hart Seymour (b. 1807, d. 1868, Democrat)
13-Oct-1853 3-May-1854 Charles Hobby Pond (b. 1781, d. 1861, Democrat)
3-May-1854 2-May-1855 Henry Dutton (b. 1796, d. 1869, Whig)
2-May-1855 6-May-1857 William Thomas Minor (b. 1815, d. 1889, ARP)
6-May-1857 5-May-1858 Alexander Hamilton Holley (b. 1804, d. 1887, Whig)
5-May-1858 2-May-1866 William Alfred Buckingham (b. 1804, d. 1875, Republican)
2-May-1866 1-May-1867 Joseph Roswell Hawley (b. 1826, d. 1905, Republican)
1-May-1867 5-May-1869 James Edward English (1st time, b. 1812, d. 1890, Democrat)
5-May-1869 4-May-1870 Marshall Jewell (1st time, b. 1825, d. 1883, Republican)
4-May-1870 16-May-1871 James Edward English (2nd time, Democrat)
16-May-1871 7-May-1873 Marshall Jewell (2nd time, Republican)
7-May-1873 3-Jan-1877 Charles Roberts Ingersoll (b. 1821, d. 1903, Democrat)
3-Jan-1877 9-Jan-1879 Richard Dudley Hubbard (b. 1818, d. 1884, Democrat)
9-Jan-1879 5-Jan-1881 Charles Bartlett Andrews (b. 1834, d. 1902, Republican)
5-Jan-1881 3-Jan-1883 Hobart Baldwin Bigelow (b. 1834, d. 1891, Republican)
3-Jan-1883 8-Jan-1885 Thomas McDonald Waller (b. 1840, d. 1924, Democrat)
8-Jan-1885 7-Jan-1887 Henry Baldwon Harrison (b. 1821, d. 1901, Republican)
7-Jan-1887 10-Jan-1889 Phineas Chapman Lounsbury (b. 1844, d. 1925, Republican)
10-Jan-1889 4-Jan-1893 Morgan Gardner Bulkeley (b. 1837, d. 1922, Republican)
4-Jan-1893 9-Jan-1895 Luzon Burrit Morris (b. 1827, d. 1895, Democrat)
9-Jan-1895 6-Jan-1897 Owen Vincent Coffin (b. 1836, d. 1921, Republican)
6-Jan-1897 4-Jan-1899 Lorrin Alanson Cooke (b. 1831, d. 1902, Republican)
4-Jan-1899 9-Jan-1901 George E. Lounsbury (b. 1838, d. 1904, Republican)
9-Jan-1901 7-Jan-1903 George P. McLean (b. 1857, d. 1932, Republican)
7-Jan-1903 4-Jan-1905 Abiram Chamberlain (b. 1837, d. 1911, Republican)
4-Jan-1905 9-Jan-1907 Henry Roberts (b. 1853, d. 1929, Republican)
9-Jan-1907 6-Jan-1909 Rollin S. Woodruff (b. 1854, d. 1925, Republican)
6-Jan-1909 21-Apr-1909 George L. Lilley (b. 1859, d. 1909, Republican)
21-Apr-1909 4-Jan-1911 Frank B. Weeks (b. 1854, d. 1935, Republican)
4-Jan-1911 6-Jan-1915 Simeon E. Baldwin (b. 1840, d. 1927, Democrat)
6-Jan-1915 5-Jan-1921 Marcus H. Holcomb (b. 1844, d. 1932, Republican)
5-Jan-1921 3-Jan-1923 Everett J. Lake (b. 1871, d. 1948, Republican)
3-Jan-1923 7-Jan-1925 Charles A. Templeton (b. 1871, d. 1955, Republican)
7-Jan-1925 8-Jan-1925 Hiram Bingham (b. 1875, d. 1956, Republican)
8-Jan-1925 7-Jan-1931 John H. Trumbull (b. 1873, d. 1961, Republican)
7-Jan-1931 4-Jan-1939 Wilbur L. Cross (b. 1862, d. 1948, Democrat)
4-Jan-1939 8-Jan-1941 Raymond E. Baldwin (1st time, b. 1893, d. 1986, Republican)
8-Jan-1941 6-Jan-1943 Robert A. Hurley (b. 1895, d. 1968, Democrat)
6-Jan-1943 27-Dec-1946 Raymond E. Baldwin (2nd time, Republican)
27-Dec-1946 8-Jan-1947 Wilbert Snow (b. 1884, d. 1977, Democrat)
8-Jan-1947 7-Mar-1948 James L. McConaughy (b. 1887, d. 1948, Republican)
7-Mar-1948 5-Jan-1949 James C. Shannon (b. 1896, d. 1980, Republican)
5-Jan-1949 3-Jan-1951 Chester Bowles (b. 1901, d. 1986, Democrat)
3-Jan-1951 5-Jan-1955 John Davis Lodge (b. 1903, d. 1985, Republican)
5-Jan-1955 21-Jan-1961 Abraham Ribicoff (b. 1910, d. 1998, Democrat)
21-Jan-1961 6-Jan-1971 John N. Dempsey (b. 1915, d. 1989, Democrat)
6-Jan-1971 8-Jan-1975 Thomas J. Meskill (b. 1928, d. 2007, Republican)
8-Jan-1975 31-Dec-1980 Ella T. Grasso (b. 1919, d. 1981, Democrat)
31-Dec-1980 9-Jan-1991 William A. O'Neill (b. 1930, d. 2007, Democrat)
9-Jan-1991 4-Jan-1995 Lowell P. Weicker, Jr. (b. 1931, A Connecticut Party)
4-Jan-1995 1-Jul-2004 John Rowland (b. 1957, Republican)
1-Jul-2004 -- M. Jodi Rell (b. 1946, Republican)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications



Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.