This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of Alabama


Dec-1817 10-Jul-1820 William Wyatt Bibb (b. 1781, d. 1820, Democrat)
10-Jul-1820 9-Nov-1821 Thomas Bibb (b. 1783, d. 1839, Democrat)
9-Nov-1821 25-Nov-1825 Israel Pickens (b. 1780, d. 1827, Democrat)
25-Nov-1825 25-Nov-1829 John Murphy (b. 1786, d. 1841, Democrat)
25-Nov-1829 3-Mar-1831 Gabriel Moore (b. 1785, d. 1845, Democrat)
3-Mar-1831 26-Nov-1831 Samuel B. Moore (b. 1789, d. 1846, Democrat)
26-Nov-1831 21-Nov-1835 John Gayle (b. 1792, d. 1859, Democrat)
21-Nov-1835 16-Jul-1837 Clement Comer Clay (b. 1789, d. 1866, Democrat)
17-Jul-1837 30-Nov-1837 Hugh McVay (b. 1788, d. 1851, Democrat)
30-Nov-1837 22-Nov-1841 Arthur Pendleton Bagby (b. 1794, d. 1858, Democrat)
22-Nov-1841 10-Dec-1845 Benjamin Fitzpatrick (b. 1802, d. 1869, Democrat)
10-Dec-1845 6-Dec-1847 Joshua Lanier Martin (b. 1799, d. 1856, Democrat)
6-Dec-1847 17-Dec-1849 Reuben Chapman (b. 1799, d. 1882, Democrat)
17-Dec-1849 20-Dec-1853 Henry Watkins Collier (b. 1801, d. 1855, Democrat)
20-Dec-1853 1-Dec-1857 John Anthony Winston (b. 1812, d. 1871, Democrat)
1-Dec-1857 2-Dec-1861 Andrew Barry Moore (b. 1807, d. 1873, Democrat)
2-Dec-1861 1-Dec-1863 John Gill Shorter (b. 1818, d. 1872, Democrat)
1-Dec-1863 1-May-1865 Thomas Hill Watts (b. 1819, d. 1892, Democrat)
21-Jun-1865 13-Dec-1865 Lewis Eliphalet Parsons (Provisional, b. 1817, d. 1895, Democrat)
13-Dec-1865 24-Jul-1868 Robert Miller Patton (b. 1809, d. 1885, Whig)
1867 24-Jul-1868 J. Wager Swayne (Military Governor, b. 1834, d. 1902, Mil)
24-Jul-1868 26-Nov-1870 William Henry Smith (b. 1826, d. 1899, Republican)
26-Nov-1870 17-Nov-1872 Robert Burns Lindsay (b. 1824, d. 1902, Democrat)
17-Nov-1872 24-Nov-1874 David Peter Lewis (b. 1820, d. 1884, Republican)
24-Nov-1874 28-Nov-1878 George Smith Houston (b. 1811, d. 1879, Democrat)
28-Nov-1878 1-Dec-1882 Rufus Willis Cobb (b. 1829, d. 1913, Democrat)
1-Dec-1882 1-Dec-1886 Edward Ashbury O'Neal (b. 1818, d. 1890, Democrat)
1-Dec-1886 1-Dec-1890 Thomas Seay (b. 1846, d. 1896, Democrat)
1-Dec-1890 1-Dec-1894 Thomas Goode Jones (b. 1844, d. 1914, Democrat)
1-Dec-1894 1-Dec-1896 William Calvin Oates (b. 1835, d. 1910, Democrat)
1-Dec-1896 1-Dec-1900 Joseph Forney Johnston (b. 1843, d. 1913, Democrat)
1-Dec-1900 11-Jun-1901 William James Samford (b. 1844, d. 1901, Democrat)
11-Jun-1901 14-Jan-1907 William Dorsey Jelks (b. 1855, d. 1931, Democrat)
25-Apr-1904 5-Mar-1905 Russell McWorther Cunningham (acting, b. 1855, d. 1922, Democrat)
14-Jan-1907 17-Jan-1911 Braxton Bragg Comer (b. 1848, d. 1927, Democrat)
17-Jan-1911 18-Jan-1915 Emmett O'Neal (b. 1853, d. 1922, Democrat)
18-Jan-1915 20-Jan-1919 Charles Henderson (b. 1860, d. 1937, Democrat)
20-Jan-1919 15-Jan-1923 Thomas Erby Kilby (b. 1865, d. 1943, Democrat)
15-Jan-1923 17-Jan-1927 William Woodward Brandon (b. 1868, d. 1934, Democrat)
17-Jan-1927 19-Jan-1931 Bibb Graves (1st time, b. 1873, d. 1942, Democrat)
19-Jan-1931 14-Jan-1935 Benjamin Meek Miller (b. 1864, d. 1944, Democrat)
14-Jan-1935 17-Jan-1939 Bibb Graves (2nd time, Democrat)
17-Jan-1939 19-Jan-1943 Frank Murray Dixon (b. 1892, d. 1965, Democrat)
19-Jan-1943 20-Jan-1947 Chauncey M. Sparks (b. 1884, d. 1968, Democrat)
20-Jan-1947 15-Jan-1951 James Elisha Folsom, Sr. (1st time, b. 1908, d. 1987, Democrat)
15-Jan-1951 17-Jan-1955 Seth Gordon Persons (b. 1902, d. 1965, Democrat)
17-Jan-1955 19-Jan-1959 James Elisha Folsom, Sr. (2nd time, Democrat)
19-Jan-1959 14-Jan-1963 John Malcolm Patterson (b. 1921, Democrat)
14-Jan-1963 16-Jan-1967 George Wallace (1st time, b. 1919, d. 1998, Democrat)
16-Jan-1967 7-May-1968 Lurleen Burns Wallace (b. 1926, d. 1968, Democrat)
7-May-1968 18-Jan-1971 Albert Brewer (b. 1928, Democrat)
18-Jan-1971 15-Jan-1979 George Wallace (2nd time, Democrat)
5-Jun-1972 7-Jul-1972 Jere Beasley (acting, b. 1935, Democrat)
15-Jan-1979 17-Jan-1983 Fob James (1st time, b. 1934, Democrat)
17-Jan-1983 19-Jan-1987 George Wallace (3rd time, Democrat)
19-Jan-1987 22-Apr-1993 H. Guy Hunt (b. 1933, d. 2009, Republican)
22-Apr-1993 16-Jan-1995 Jim Folsom, Jr. (b. 1949, Democrat)
16-Jan-1995 18-Jan-1999 Fob James (2nd time, Republican)
18-Jan-1999 20-Jan-2003 Don Siegelman (b. 1946, Democrat)
20-Jan-2003 17-Jan-2011 Robert Riley (b. 1944, Republican)
17-Jan-2011 -- Robert J. Bentley (b. 1943, Republican)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Atlanta Corridors of Power

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.