This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Governor of Massachusetts


The list below does not include colonial or military governors prior to establishment of the United States. These include (among many others) John Winthrop, Thomas Hutchinson, William Shirley and Thomas Gage.

25-Oct-1780 29-Jan-1785 John Hancock (1st time, b. 1737, d. 1793)
29-Jan-1785 26-May-1785 Thomas Cushing (acting, b. 1725, d. 1788)
26-May-1785 30-May-1787 James Bowdoin (b. 1726, d. 1790 )
30-May-1787 8-Oct-1793 John Hancock (2nd time)
8-Oct-1793 2-Jun-1797 Samuel Adams (b. 1722, d. 1803)
2-Jun-1797 7-Jun-1799 Increase Sumner (b. 1746, d. 1799, Federalist)
7-Jun-1799 20-May-1800 Moses Gill (acting, b. 1734, d. 1800, Federalist)
30-May-1800 29-May-1807 Caleb Strong (1st time, b. 1745 - d. 1819, Federalist)
29-May-1807 10-Dec-1808 James Sullivan (b. 1744, d. 1808, Democrat-Republican)
10-Dec-1808 1-May-1809 Levi Lincoln (acting, b. 1749, d. 1820, Democrat-Republican)
1-May-1809 Jun-1810 Christopher Gore (b. 1758, d. 1827, Federalist)
10-Jun-1810 Jun-1812 Elbridge Gerry (b. 1744, d. 1814, Democrat-Republican)
Jun-1812 30-May-1816 Caleb Strong (2nd time, Federalist)
30-May-1816 31-May-1823 John Brooks (b. 1752, d. 1825, Federalist)
31-May-1823 6-Feb-1825 William Eustis (b. 1753, d. 1825, Democrat-Republican)
6-Feb-1825 26-May-1825 Marcus Morton (1st time, acting, b. 1784, d. 1864, Democrat-Republican)
26-May-1825 9-Jan-1834 Levi Lincoln, Jr. (b. 1782, d. 1868, D-F)
9-Jan-1834 1-Mar-1835 John Davis (1st time, b. 1787, d. 1854, Whig)
1-Mar-1835 13-Jan-1836 Samuel T. Armstrong (acting, b. 1784, d. 1850, Whig)
13-Jan-1836 18-Jan-1840 Edward Everett (b. 1794, d. 1865, Whig)
18-Jan-1840 7-Jan-1841 Marcus Morton (2nd time, Democrat)
7-Jan-1841 17-Jan-1843 John Davis (2nd time, Whig)
17-Jan-1843 Jan-1844 Marcus Morton (3rd time, Democrat)
Jan-1844 11-Jan-1851 George N. Briggs (b. 1796, d. 1861, Whig)
11-Jan-1851 14-Jan-1853 George S. Boutwell (b. 1818, d. 1905, DFS)
14-Jan-1853 12-Jan-1854 John H. Clifford (b. 1809, d. 1876, Whig)
12-Jan-1854 4-Jan-1855 Emory Washburn (b. 1800, d. 1877, Whig)
4-Jan-1855 7-Jan-1858 Henry J. Gardner (b. 1818, d. 1892, AP)
7-Jan-1858 3-Jan-1861 Nathaniel P. Banks (b. 1816, d. 1894, Republican)
3-Jan-1861 4-Jan-1866 John A. Andrew (b. 1818, d. 1867, Republican)
4-Jan-1866 7-Jan-1869 Alexander H. Bullock (b. 1816, d. 1882, Republican)
7-Jan-1869 4-Jan-1872 William Claflin (b. 1818, d. 1905, Republican)
4-Jan-1872 29-Apr-1874 William B. Washburn (b. 1820, d. 1887, Republican)
29-Apr-1874 7-Jan-1875 Thomas Talbot (1st time, acting, b. 1818, d. 1886, Republican)
7-Jan-1875 6-Jan-1876 William Gaston (b. 1820, d. 1806, Democrat)
6-Jan-1876 2-Jan-1879 Alexander H. Rice (b. 1818, d. 1895, Republican)
2-Jan-1879 8-Jan-1880 Thomas Talbot (2nd time, Republican)
8-Jan-1880 4-Jan-1883 John D. Long (b. 1838, d. 1915, Republican)
4-Jan-1883 3-Jan-1884 Benjamin Franklin Butler (b. 1818, d. 1893, Democrat)
3-Jan-1884 6-Jan-1887 George D. Robinson (b. 1834, d. 1896, Republican)
6-Jan-1887 7-Jan-1890 Oliver Ames (b. 1831, d. 1895, Republican)
7-Jan-1890 8-Jan-1891 John Q.A. Brackett (b. 1842, d. 1918, Republican)
8-Jan-1891 4-Jan-1894 William E. Russell (b. 1857, d. 1896, Democrat)
4-Jan-1894 5-Mar-1896 Frederic T. Greenhalge (b. 1842, d. 1896, Republican)
5-Mar-1896 4-Jan-1900 Roger Wolcott (b. 1847, d. 1900, Republican)
4-Jan-1900 8-Jan-1903 W. Murray Crane (b. 1853, d. 1920, Republican)
8-Jan-1903 5-Jan-1905 John L. Bates (b. 1859, d. 1946, Republican)
5-Jan-1905 4-Jan-1906 William L. Douglas (b. 1845, d. 1924, Democrat)
4-Jan-1906 7-Jan-1909 Curtis Guild, Jr. (b. 1860, d. 1915, Republican)
7-Jan-1909 5-Jan-1911 Eben S. Draper (b. 1858, d. 1914, Republican)
5-Jan-1911 8-Jan-1914 Eugene N. Foss (b. 1858, d. 1939, Democrat)
8-Jan-1914 6-Jan-1916 David I. Walsh (b. 1872, d. 1947, Democrat)
6-Jan-1916 2-Jan-1919 Samuel W. McCall (b. 1851, d. 1923, Republican)
2-Jan-1919 6-Jan-1921 Calvin Coolidge (b. 1872, d. 1933, Republican)
6-Jan-1921 8-Jan-1925 Channing H. Cox (b. 1879, d. 1968, Republican)
8-Jan-1925 3-Jan-1929 Alvan T. Fuller (b. 1878, d. 1958, Republican)
3-Jan-1929 8-Jan-1931 Frank G. Allen (b. 1874, d. 1950, Republican)
8-Jan-1931 3-Jan-1935 Joseph B. Ely (b. 1881, d. 1956, Democrat)
3-Jan-1935 7-Jan-1937 James M. Curley (b. 1874, d. 1958, Democrat)
7-Jan-1937 5-Jan-1939 Charles F. Hurley (b. 1893, d. 1946, Democrat)
5-Jan-1939 3-Jan-1945 Leverett Saltonstall (b. 1892, d. 1979, Republican)
3-Jan-1945 2-Jan-1947 Maurice J. Tobin (b. 1901, d. 1953, Democrat)
2-Jan-1947 6-Jan-1949 Robert F. Bradford (b. 1902, d. 1983, Republican)
6-Jan-1949 8-Jan-1953 Paul A. Dever (b. 1903, d. 1958, Democrat)
8-Jan-1953 3-Jan-1957 Christian Herter (b. 1895, d. 1966, Republican)
3-Jan-1957 5-Jan-1961 Foster Furcolo (b. 1911, d. 1995, Democrat)
5-Jan-1961 3-Jan-1963 John A. Volpe (1st time, b. 1908, d. 1994, Republican)
3-Jan-1963 7-Jan-1965 Endicott Peabody (b. 1920, d. 1997, Democrat)
7-Jan-1965 22-Jan-1969 John A. Volpe (2nd time, Republican)
22-Jan-1969 2-Jan-1975 Francis W. Sargent (b. 1915, d. 1998, Republican)
2-Jan-1975 4-Jan-1979 Michael Dukakis (1st time, b. 1933, Democrat)
4-Jan-1979 6-Jan-1983 Edward J. King (b. 1925, Democrat)
6-Jan-1983 3-Jan-1991 Michael Dukakis (2nd time, Democrat)
3-Jan-1991 29-Jul-1997 Bill Weld (b. 1945, Republican)
29-Jul-1997 10-Apr-2001 Paul Cellucci (b. 1948, Republican)
10-Apr-2001 2-Jan-2003 Jane Swift (acting, b. 1965, Republican)
2-Jan-2003 4-Jan-2007 Mitt Romney (b. 1947, Republican)
4-Jan-2007 8-Jan-2015 Deval Patrick (b. 1956, Democrat)
8-Jan-2015 -- Charlie Baker (b. 1956, Republican)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Geek Pie

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.