This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
Mayor of Philadelphia


Official Website:

Philadelphia, PA

20-May-1691 25-Oct-1701 Humphrey Morrey  
25-Oct-1701 5-Oct-1703 Edward Shippen (b. 1639, d. 1712)
5-Oct-1703 3-Oct-1704 Anthony Morris  
3-Oct-1704 2-Oct-1705 Griffith Jones  
2-Oct-1705 1-Oct-1706 Joseph Willcox  
1-Oct-1706 7-Oct-1707 Nathan Stanbury  
7-Oct-1707 4-Oct-1709 Thomas Masters  
4-Oct-1709 3-Oct-1710 Richard Hill  
3-Oct-1710 2-Oct-1711 William Carter  
2-Oct-1711 7-Oct-1712 Samuel Preston  
7-Oct-1712 6-Oct-1713 Jonathan Dickinson (1st time)
6-Oct-1713 5-Oct-1714 George Roch  
5-Oct-1714 1-Oct-1717 Richard Hill  
1-Oct-1717 6-Oct-1719 Jonathan Dickinson (2nd time)
6-Oct-1719 2-Oct-1722 William Fishbourn  
2-Oct-1722 1-Oct-1723 James Logan  
1-Oct-1723 6-Oct-1724 Clement Plumsted (1st time)
6-Oct-1724 5-Oct-1725 Isaac Norris  
5-Oct-1725 4-Oct-1726 William Hudson  
4-Oct-1726 3-Oct-1727 Charles Read  
3-Oct-1727 7-Oct-1729 Thomas Lawrence (1st time, d. 1754)
7-Oct-1729 6-Oct-1731 Thomas Griffitts (1st time)
6-Oct-1731 2-Oct-1733 Samuel Hasell (1st time)
2-Oct-1733 1-Oct-1734 Thomas Griffitts (2nd time)
1-Oct-1734 7-Oct-1735 Thomas Lawrence (2nd time)
7-Oct-1735 5-Oct-1736 William Allen (b. 1704, d. 1780)
5-Oct-1736 4-Oct-1737 Clement Plumsted (2nd time)
4-Oct-1737 3-Oct-1738 Thomas Griffitts (3rd time)
3-Oct-1738 2-Oct-1739 Anthony Morris  
2-Oct-1739 7-Oct-1740 Edward Roberts  
7-Oct-1740 6-Oct-1741 Samuel Hasell (2nd time)
6-Oct-1741 5-Oct-1742 Clement Plumsted (3rd time)
5-Oct-1742 4-Oct-1743 William Till  
4-Oct-1743 2-Oct-1744 Benjamin Shoemaker (1st time)
2-Oct-1744 1-Oct-1745 Edward Shippen  
1-Oct-1745 7-Oct-1746 James Hamilton  
7-Oct-1746 4-Oct-1748 William Attwood  
4-Oct-1748 3-Oct-1749 Charles Willing (1st time, d. 1754)
3-Oct-1749 2-Oct-1750 Thomas Lawrence (3rd time)
2-Oct-1750 1-Oct-1751 William Plumsted (1st time)
1-Oct-1751 3-Oct-1752 Robert Strettell  
3-Oct-1752 2-Oct-1753 Benjamin Shoemaker (2nd time)
2-Oct-1753 25-Apr-1754 Thomas Lawrence (4th time)
25-Apr-1754 4-Dec-1754 Charles Willing (2nd time)
4-Dec-1754 5-Oct-1756 William Plumsted (2nd time)
5-Oct-1756 15-Oct-1758 Attwood Shute  
15-Oct-1758 2-Oct-1759 Thomas Lawrence (1st time)
2-Oct-1759 7-Oct-1760 John Stamper  
7-Oct-1760 6-Oct-1761 Benjamin Shoemaker (3rd time)
6-Oct-1761 5-Oct-1762 Jacob Duche  
5-Oct-1762 4-Oct-1763 Henry Harrison  
4-Oct-1763 2-Oct-1764 Thomas Willing (b. 1731, d. 1821)
2-Oct-1764 1-Oct-1765 Thomas Lawrence (2nd time)
1-Oct-1765 6-Oct-1767 John Lawrence  
6-Oct-1767 3-Oct-1769 Isaac Jones  
3-Oct-1769 1-Oct-1771 Samuel Shoemaker  
1-Oct-1771 5-Oct-1773 John Gibson  
5-Oct-1773 4-Oct-1774 William Fisher  
4-Oct-1774 5-Oct-1775 Samuel Rhoads (b. 1711, d. 1784)
5-Oct-1775 1776 Samuel Powel (1st time)
1776 11-Apr-1789 (Vacant) (rule by Pennsylvania Assembly)
11-Apr-1789 12-Apr-1790 Samuel Powel (2nd time)
12-Apr-1790 13-Apr-1791 John Barclay  
13-Apr-1791 18-Oct-1796 Matthew Clarkson (b. 1733, d. 1800)
18-Oct-1796 16-Oct-1798 Hilary Baker  
16-Oct-1798 21-Oct-1800 Robert Wharton (1st time)
21-Oct-1800 16-Oct-1801 John Inskeep (1st time)
16-Oct-1801 15-Oct-1805 Matthew Lawler  
15-Oct-1805 21-Oct-1806 John Inskeep (2nd time)
21-Oct-1806 18-Oct-1808 Robert Wharton (2nd time)
18-Oct-1808 16-Oct-1810 John Barker (1st time)
16-Oct-1810 15-Oct-1811 Robert Wharton (3rd time)
15-Oct-1811 20-Oct-1812 Michael Keppele  
20-Oct-1812 19-Oct-1813 John Barker (2nd time)
19-Oct-1813 18-Oct-1814 John Geyer  
18-Oct-1814 19-Oct-1819 Robert Wharton (4th time)
19-Oct-1819 17-Oct-1820 James Nelson Barker (b. 1784, d. 1858)
17-Oct-1820 19-Oct-1824 Robert Wharton (5th time)
19-Oct-1824 21-Oct-1828 Joseph Watson  
21-Oct-1828 15-Apr-1829 George M. Dallas (b. 1792, d. 1864)
15-Apr-1829 20-Oct-1829 Benjamin Wood Richards (1st time)
20-Oct-1829 19-Oct-1830 William Milnor (b. 1769, d. 1848)
19-Oct-1830 16-Oct-1832 Benjamin Wood Richards (2nd time)
16-Oct-1832 16-Oct-1838 John Swift (1st time, b. 1790, d. 1873)
16-Oct-1838 15-Oct-1839 Isaac Roach  
15-Oct-1839 19-Oct-1841 John Swift (2nd time)
19-Oct-1841 15-Oct-1844 John Morin Scott  
15-Oct-1844 21-Oct-1845 Peter McCall (b. 1809, d. 1880, Whig)
21-Oct-1845 16-Oct-1849 John Swift (3rd time)
16-Oct-1849 15-Oct-1850 Joel Jones (b. 1795, d. 1860, Whig)
15-Oct-1850 13-Jun-1854 Charles Gilpin (b. 1809, d. 1891, Whig)
13-Jun-1854 13-May-1856 Robert Thomas Conrad (b. 1810, d. 1858, Whig)
13-May-1865 11-May-1858 Rochard Vaux (b. 1816, d. 1895, Democrat)
11-May-1858 1-Jan-1866 Alexander Henry (b. 1823, d. 1883, PP;1860 Rep)
1-Jan-1866 1-Jan-1869 Morton McMichael (b. 1807, d. 1879, Republican)
1-Jan-1869 1-Jan-1872 Daniel Fox Dem  
1-Jan-1872 4-Apr-1881 William Strumberg Stokley (b. 1823, d. 1902, Republican)
4-Apr-1881 7-Apr-1884 Samuel George King (b. 1816, d. 1899, Democrat)
7-Apr-1884 4-Apr-1887 William Burns Smith (b. 1844, d. 1917, Republican)
4-Apr-1887 6-Apr-1891 Edwin Henry Fitler (b. 1825, d. 1896, Republican)
6-Apr-1891 1-Apr-1895 Edwin Sydney Stuart (b. 1853, d. 1937, Republican)
1-Apr-1895 3-Apr-1899 Charles Franklin Warwick (b. 1852, d. 1913, Republican)
3-Apr-1899 6-Apr-1903 Samuel Howell Ashbridge (b. 1849, d. 1906, Republican)
6-Apr-1903 1-Apr-1907 John Weaver (b. 1862, d. 1928, Republican)
1-Apr-1907 4-Dec-1911 John Edger Reyburn (b. 1845, d. 1914, Republican)
4-Dec-1911 3-Jan-1916 Rudolph Blankenburg (b. 1843, d. 1918, Democrat)
2-Jan-1916 5-Jan-1920 Thomas B. Smith (b. 1869, d. 1949, Republican)
5-Jan-1920 7-Jan-1924 Joseph Hampton Moore (1st time, b. 1864, d. 1950, Republican)
7-Jan-1924 2-Jan-1928 W. Freeland Kendrick (b. 1874, d. 1953, Republican)
2-Jan-1928 4-Jan-1932 Harry Arista Mackey (b. 1875, d. 1938, Republican)
4-Jan-1932 6-Jan-1936 Joseph Hampton Moore (2nd time, Republican)
1-Jan-1936 19-Aug-1939 Samuel Davis Wilson (b. 1881, d. 1939, Republican)
19-Aug-1939 1-Jan-1940 George Connell (acting, b. 1871, d. 1955, Republican)
1-Jan-1940 22-Aug-1941 Robert Eneas Lamberton (b. 1886, d. 1941, Republican)
22-Aug-1941 7-Jan-1952 Bernard Samuel (acting to 3-Jan-1944, b. 1880, d. 1954, Republican)
7-Jan-1952 2-Jan-1956 Joseph Sill Clark Jr. (b. 1901, d. 1990, Democrat)
2-Jan-1956 13-Feb-1962 Richardson K. Dilworth (b. 1898, d. 1974, Democrat)
13-Feb-1962 3-Jan-1972 James Hugh Joseph Tate (b. 1910, d. 1983, Democrat)
3-Jan-1972 7-Jan-1980 Frank Rizzo (b. 1920, d. 1991, Democrat)
7-Jan-1980 2-Jan-1984 William J. Green III (b. 1938, Democrat)
2-Jan-1984 6-Jan-1992 Wilson Goode (b. 1938, Democrat)
6-Jan-1992 3-Jan-2000 Ed Rendell (b. 1944, Democrat)
3-Jan-2000 7-Jan-2008 John F. Street (b. 1943, Democrat)
7-Jan-2008 -- Michael Nutter (b. 1957, Democrat)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Hollywood Super Families

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.