This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
US Secretary of Agriculture


Chief officer of the US Agriculture Department.

15-Feb-1889 6-Mar-1889 Norman Jay Colman (under Grover Cleveland)
6-Mar-1889 6-Mar-1893 Jeremiah M. Rusk (under Benjamin Harrison)
7-Mar-1893 5-Mar-1897 J. Sterling Morton (under Grover Cleveland)
6-Mar-1897 5-Mar-1913 James Wilson (under William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt and William Howard Taft)
6-Mar-1913 2-Feb-1920 David F. Houston (under Woodrow Wilson)
2-Feb-1920 4-Mar-1921 Edwin T. Meredith (under Woodrow Wilson)
5-Mar-1921 25-Oct-1924 Henry C. Wallace (under Warren G. Harding and Calvin Coolidge)
22-Nov-1924 4-Mar-1925 Howard M. Gore (under Calvin Coolidge)
5-Mar-1925 4-Mar-1929 William M. Jardine (under Calvin Coolidge)
6-Mar-1929 4-Mar-1933 Arthur M. Hyde (under Herbert Hoover)
4-Mar-1933 4-Sep-1940 Henry A. Wallace (under Franklin D. Roosevelt)
5-Sep-1940 29-Jun-1945 Claude R. Wickard (under Franklin D. Roosevelt and Harry S. Truman)
30-Jun-1945 10-May-1948 Clinton P. Anderson (under Harry S. Truman)
2-Jun-1948 20-Jan-1953 Charles F. Brannan (under Harry S. Truman)
21-Jan-1953 20-Jan-1961 Ezra Taft Benson (under Dwight D. Eisenhower)
21-Jan-1961 20-Jan-1969 Orville L. Freeman (under John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson)
21-Jan-1969 17-Nov-1971 Clifford M. Hardin (under Richard M. Nixon)
2-Dec-1971 4-Oct-1976 Earl Butz (under Richard M. Nixon and Gerald Ford)
4-Nov-1976 20-Jan-1977 John A. Knebel (under Gerald Ford)
23-Jan-1977 20-Jan-1981 Robert Bergland (under Jimmy Carter)
23-Jan-1981 14-Feb-1986 John R. Block (under Ronald Reagan)
7-Mar-1986 21-Jan-1989 Richard E. Lyng (under Ronald Reagan)
16-Feb-1989 1-Mar-1991 Clayton K. Yeutter (under George H.W. Bush)
12-Mar-1991 20-Jan-1993 Edward R. Madigan (under George H.W. Bush)
22-Jan-1993 31-Dec-1994 Mike Espy (under Bill Clinton)
30-Mar-1995 19-Jan-2001 Dan Glickman (under Bill Clinton)
20-Jan-2001 18-Jan-2005 Ann Veneman (under George W. Bush)
21-Jan-2005 1-Oct-2007 Mike Johanns (under George W. Bush)
28-Jan-2008 20-Jan-2009 Edward T. Schafer (under George W. Bush)
21-Jan-2009 -- Thomas Vilsack (under Barack Obama)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Governors of Texas

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.