This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
US Secretary of the Treasury


Chief officer of the US Treasury Department.

11-Sep-1789 31-Jan-1795 Alexander Hamilton (under George Washington)
3-Feb-1795 31-Dec-1800 Oliver Wolcott, Jr. (under George Washington and John Adams)
1-Jan-1801 13-May-1801 Samuel Dexter (under John Adams and Thomas Jefferson)
14-May-1801 8-Feb-1814 Albert Gallatin (under Thomas Jefferson and James Madison)
9-Feb-1814 5-Oct-1814 George W. Campbell (under James Madison)
6-Oct-1814 21-Oct-1816 Alexander J. Dallas (under James Madison)
22-Oct-1816 6-Mar-1825 William H. Crawford (under James Madison and James Monroe)
7-Mar-1825 5-Mar-1829 Richard Rush (under John Quincy Adams)
6-Mar-1829 20-Jun-1831 Samuel D. Ingham (under Andrew Jackson)
8-Aug-1831 28-May-1833 Louis McLane (under Andrew Jackson)
29-May-1833 22-Sep-1833 William J. Duane (under Andrew Jackson)
23-Sep-1833 25-Jun-1834 Roger Brooke Taney (under Andrew Jackson)
1-Jul-1834 3-Mar-1841 Levi Woodbury (under Andrew Jackson and Martin Van Buren)
4-Mar-1841 11-Sep-1841 Thomas Ewing (under William Henry Harrison and John Tyler)
13-Sep-1841 1-Mar-1843 Walter Forward (under John Tyler)
8-Mar-1843 2-May-1844 John C. Spencer (under John Tyler)
4-Jul-1844 7-Mar-1845 George M. Bibb (under John Tyler)
8-Mar-1845 5-Mar-1849 Robert J. Walker (under James Knox Polk)
8-Mar-1849 22-Jul-1850 William M. Meredith (under Zachary Taylor)
23-Jul-1850 6-Mar-1853 Thomas Corwin (under Millard Fillmore)
7-Mar-1853 6-Mar-1857 James Guthrie (under Franklin Pierce)
7-Mar-1857 8-Dec-1860 Howell Cobb (under James Buchanan)
12-Dec-1860 14-Jan-1861 Philip F. Thomas (under James Buchanan)
15-Jan-1861 6-Mar-1861 John Adams Dix (under James Buchanan)
7-Mar-1861 30-Jun-1864 Salmon P. Chase (under Abraham Lincoln)
5-Jul-1864 3-Mar-1865 William P. Fessenden (under Abraham Lincoln)
9-Mar-1865 3-Mar-1869 Hugh McCulloch (under Abraham Lincoln and Andrew Johnson)
12-Mar-1869 16-Mar-1873 George S. Boutwell (under Ulysses S. Grant)
17-Mar-1873 3-Jun-1874 William A. Richardson (under Ulysses S. Grant)
4-Jun-1874 20-Jun-1876 Benjamin H. Bristow (under Ulysses S. Grant)
7-Jul-1876 9-Mar-1877 Lot M. Morrill (under Ulysses S. Grant and Rutherford B. Hayes)
10-Mar-1877 3-Mar-1881 John Sherman (under Rutherford B. Hayes)
8-Mar-1881 13-Nov-1881 William Windom (under James Garfield and Chester A. Arthur)
14-Nov-1881 4-Sep-1884 Charles J. Folger (under Chester A. Arthur)
5-Sep-1884 30-Oct-1884 Walter Q. Gresham (under Chester A. Arthur)
31-Oct-1884 7-Mar-1885 Hugh McCulloch (under Chester A. Arthur and Grover Cleveland)
8-Mar-1885 31-Mar-1887 Daniel Manning (under Grover Cleveland)
1-Apr-1887 6-Mar-1889 Charles S. Fairchild (under Grover Cleveland)
7-Mar-1889 29-Jan-1891 William Windom (under Benjamin Harrison)
25-Feb-1891 6-Mar-1893 Charles Foster (under Benjamin Harrison and Grover Cleveland)
7-Mar-1893 5-Mar-1897 John G. Carlisle (under Grover Cleveland and William McKinley)
6-Mar-1897 31-Jan-1902 Lyman J. Gage (under William McKinley and Theodore Roosevelt)
1-Feb-1902 3-Mar-1907 Leslie M. Shaw (under Theodore Roosevelt)
4-Mar-1907 7-Mar-1909 George B. Cortelyou (under Theodore Roosevelt)
8-Mar-1909 5-Mar-1913 Franklin MacVeagh (under William Howard Taft)
6-Mar-1913 15-Dec-1918 William G. McAdoo (under Woodrow Wilson)
16-Dec-1918 1-Feb-1920 Carter Glass (under Woodrow Wilson)
2-Feb-1920 3-Mar-1921 David F. Houston (under Woodrow Wilson)
4-Mar-1921 12-Feb-1932 Andrew W. Mellon (under Warren G. Harding, Calvin Coolidge, and Herbert Hoover)
13-Feb-1932 4-Mar-1933 Ogden L. Mills (under Herbert Hoover)
5-Mar-1933 31-Dec-1933 William H. Woodin (under Franklin D. Roosevelt)
1-Jan-1934 22-Jul-1945 Henry Morgenthau, Jr. (under Franklin D. Roosevelt and Harry S. Truman)
23-Jul-1945 23-Jun-1946 Fred Vinson (under Harry S. Truman)
25-Jun-1946 20-Jan-1953 John W. Snyder (under Harry S. Truman)
21-Jan-1953 29-Jul-1957 George M. Humphrey (under Dwight D. Eisenhower)
29-Jul-1957 20-Jan-1961 Robert B. Anderson (under Dwight D. Eisenhower)
21-Jan-1961 1-Apr-1965 C. Douglas Dillon (under John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson)
1-Apr-1965 20-Dec-1968 Henry H. Fowler (under Lyndon B. Johnson)
21-Dec-1968 20-Jan-1969 Joseph W. Barr (under Lyndon B. Johnson)
22-Jan-1969 10-Feb-1971 David M. Kennedy (under Richard M. Nixon)
11-Feb-1971 12-Jun-1972 John Connally (under Richard M. Nixon)
12-Jun-1972 8-May-1974 George Shultz (under Richard M. Nixon)
8-May-1974 20-Jan-1977 William E. Simon (under Richard M. Nixon and Gerald Ford)
23-Jan-1977 4-Aug-1979 W. Michael Blumenthal (under Jimmy Carter)
7-Aug-1979 20-Jan-1981 G. William Miller (under Jimmy Carter)
22-Jan-1981 1-Feb-1985 Donald Regan (under Ronald Reagan)
4-Feb-1985 17-Aug-1988 James Baker (under Ronald Reagan)
15-Sep-1988 17-Jan-1993 Nicholas F. Brady (under Ronald Reagan and George H.W. Bush)
20-Jan-1993 22-Dec-1994 Lloyd Bentsen, Jr. (under Bill Clinton)
11-Jan-1995 2-Jul-1999 Robert E. Rubin (under Bill Clinton)
2-Jul-1999 20-Jan-2001 Lawrence H. Summers (under Bill Clinton)
20-Jan-2001 31-Dec-2002 Paul O'Neill (under George W. Bush)
3-Feb-2003 30-Jun-2006 John Snow (under George W. Bush)
10-Jul-2006 20-Jan-2009 Henry M. Paulson (under George W. Bush)
26-Jan-2009 25-Jan-2013 Timothy F. Geithner (under Barack Obama)
28-Feb-2013 -- Jacob J. Lew (under Barack Obama)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.