This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
US Deputy Secretary of State


Second highest-ranking official in the US State Department. Superceded the position of US Under Secretary of State.

13-Jul-1972 01-Feb-1973 John N. Irwin II Already serving as Under Secretary
02-Feb-1973 29-May-1974 Kenneth Rush  
10-Jul-1974 31-Mar-1976 Robert S. Ingersoll  
09-Apr-1976 20-Jan-1977 Charles W. Robinson  
26-Feb-1977 16-Jan-1981 Warren Christopher  
25-Mar-1981 09-Feb-1982 William P. Clark  
11-Feb-1982 22-Sep-1982 Walter Stoessel  
23-Sep-1982 15-Jun-1985 Kenneth W. Dam  
09-Jul-1985 20-Jan-1989 John C. Whitehead  
20-Mar-1989 23-Aug-1992 Lawrence Eagleburger  
27-Jan-1993 08-Nov-1993 Clifton R. Wharton, Jr.  
23-Feb-1994 19-Jan-2001 Strobe Talbott  
26-Mar-2001 23-Feb-2005 Richard Armitage  
23-Feb-2005 19-Jun-2006 Robert Zoellick  
13-Feb-2007 -- John Negroponte  

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Gates of The Campus

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.