This is a beta version of NNDB
Search: for
US Attorney General


America's highest law enforcement officer.

26-Sep-1789 26-Jan-1794 Edmund Randolph (under George Washington)
27-Jan-1794 23-Aug-1795 William Bradford (under George Washington)
10-Dec-1795 19-Feb-1801 Charles Lee (under George Washington and John Adams)
5-Mar-1801 2-Mar-1805 Levi Lincoln (under Thomas Jefferson)
2-Mar-1805 7-Aug-1805 Robert Smith (acting, under Thomas Jefferson)
7-Aug-1805 14-Dec-1806 John Breckinridge (under Thomas Jefferson)
20-Jan-1807 10-Dec-1811 Caesar A. Rodney (under Thomas Jefferson and James Madison)
11-Dec-1811 9-Feb-1814 William Pinkney (under James Madison)
10-Feb-1814 12-Nov-1817 Richard Rush (under James Madison and James Monroe)
13-Nov-1817 4-Mar-1829 William Wirt (under James Monroe and John Quincy Adams)
9-Mar-1829 19-Jul-1831 John M. Berrien (under Andrew Jackson)
20-Jul-1831 14-Nov-1833 Roger Brooke Taney (under Andrew Jackson)
15-Nov-1833 4-Jul-1838 Benjamin F. Butler (under Andrew Jackson and Martin Van Buren)
5-Jul-1838 10-Jan-1840 Felix Grundy (under Martin Van Buren)
11-Jan-1840 4-Mar-1841 Henry Gilpin (under Martin Van Buren)
5-Mar-1841 12-Sep-1841 John J. Crittenden (under William Henry Harrison and John Tyler)
13-Sep-1841 30-Jun-1843 Hugh S. Legaré (under John Tyler)
1-Jul-1843 4-Mar-1845 John Nelson (under John Tyler)
5-Mar-1845 16-Oct-1846 John Y. Mason (under James Knox Polk)
17-Oct-1846 17-Mar-1848 Nathan Clifford (under James Knox Polk)
21-Jun-1848 4-Mar-1849 Isaac Toucey (under James Knox Polk)
8-Mar-1849 21-Jul-1850 Reverdy Johnson (under Zachary Taylor and Millard Fillmore)
22-Jul-1850 4-Mar-1853 John J. Crittenden (under Millard Fillmore)
7-Mar-1853 4-Mar-1857 Caleb Cushing (under Franklin Pierce)
6-Mar-1857 16-Dec-1860 Jeremiah S. Black (under James Buchanan)
20-Dec-1860 4-Mar-1861 Edwin M. Stanton (under James Buchanan)
5-Mar-1861 24-Nov-1864 Edward Bates (under Abraham Lincoln)
2-Dec-1864 22-Jul-1866 James Speed (under Abraham Lincoln and Andrew Johnson)
23-Jul-1866 16-Jul-1868 Henry Stanberry (under Andrew Johnson)
17-Jul-1868 4-Mar-1869 William M. Evarts (under Andrew Johnson)
5-Mar-1869 22-Nov-1870 Ebenezer R. Hoar (under Ulysses S. Grant)
23-Nov-1870 13-Dec-1871 Amos T. Akerman (under Ulysses S. Grant)
14-Dec-1871 25-Apr-1875 George H. Williams (under Ulysses S. Grant)
26-Apr-1875 21-May-1876 Edwards Pierrepont (under Ulysses S. Grant)
22-May-1876 4-Mar-1877 Alphonso Taft (under Ulysses S. Grant)
12-Mar-1877 4-Mar-1881 Charles Devens (under Rutherford B. Hayes)
5-Mar-1881 15-Dec-1881 Wayne MacVeagh (under James Garfield and Chester A. Arthur)
16-Dec-1881 4-Mar-1885 Benjamin H. Brewster (under Chester A. Arthur)
6-Mar-1885 4-Mar-1889 Augustus Hill Garland (under Grover Cleveland)
7-Mar-1889 4-Mar-1893 William H. H. Miller (under Benjamin Harrison)
6-Mar-1893 7-Apr-1895 Richard Olney (under Grover Cleveland)
8-Apr-1895 4-Mar-1897 Judson Harmon (under Grover Cleveland)
5-Mar-1897 25-Jan-1898 Joseph McKenna (under William McKinley)
25-Jan-1898 29-Mar-1901 John W. Griggs (under William McKinley)
5-Apr-1901 30-Jun-1904 Philander Knox (under William McKinley and Theodore Roosevelt)
1-Jul-1904 17-Dec-1906 William H. Moody (under Theodore Roosevelt)
17-Dec-1906 4-Mar-1909 Charles J. Bonaparte (under Theodore Roosevelt)
4-Mar-1909 4-Mar-1913 George W. Wickersham (under William Howard Taft)
5-Mar-1913 29-Aug-1914 James C. McReynolds (under Woodrow Wilson)
29-Aug-1914 4-Mar-1919 Thomas Watt Gregory (under Woodrow Wilson)
5-Mar-1919 4-Mar-1921 A. Mitchell Palmer (under Woodrow Wilson)
4-Mar-1921 6-Apr-1924 Harry M. Daugherty (under Warren G. Harding and Calvin Coolidge)
7-Apr-1924 1-Mar-1925 Harlan Fiske Stone (under Calvin Coolidge)
7-Mar-1925 4-Mar-1929 John G. Sargent (under Calvin Coolidge)
4-Mar-1929 4-Mar-1933 William D. Mitchell (under Herbert Hoover)
4-Mar-1933 1-Jan-1939 Homer S. Cummings (under Franklin D. Roosevelt)
2-Jan-1939 18-Jan-1940 Frank Murphy (under Franklin D. Roosevelt)
18-Jan-1940 25-Jan-1941 Robert H. Jackson (under Franklin D. Roosevelt)
26-Jan-1941 26-Jun-1945 Francis Biddle (under Franklin D. Roosevelt and Harry S. Truman)
27-Jun-1945 26-Jul-1949 Tom C. Clark (under Harry S. Truman)
27-Jul-1949 3-Apr-1952 J. Howard McGrath (under Harry S. Truman)
4-Apr-1952 20-Jan-1953 James P. McGranery (under Harry S. Truman)
21-Jan-1953 23-Oct-1957 Herbert Brownell, Jr. (under Dwight D. Eisenhower)
23-Oct-1957 20-Jan-1961 William P. Rogers (under Dwight D. Eisenhower)
20-Jan-1961 3-Sep-1964 Robert F. Kennedy (under John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson)
4-Sep-1964 28-Nov-1966 Nicholas Katzenbach (under Lyndon B. Johnson)
28-Nov-1966 20-Jan-1969 Ramsey Clark (under Lyndon B. Johnson)
20-Jan-1969 15-Feb-1972 John Mitchell (under Richard M. Nixon)
15-Feb-1972 25-May-1973 Richard G. Kleindienst (under Richard M. Nixon)
25-May-1973 20-Oct-1973 Elliot Richardson (under Richard M. Nixon)
20-Oct-1973 4-Jan-1974 Robert Bork (acting, under Richard M. Nixon)
4-Jan-1974 14-Jan-1975 William B. Saxbe (under Richard M. Nixon and Gerald Ford)
14-Jan-1975 20-Jan-1977 Edward H. Levi (under Gerald Ford)
26-Jan-1977 16-Aug-1979 Griffin Bell (under Jimmy Carter)
16-Aug-1979 19-Jan-1981 Benjamin R. Civiletti (under Jimmy Carter)
23-Jan-1981 25-Feb-1985 William French Smith (under Ronald Reagan)
25-Feb-1985 12-Aug-1988 Ed Meese (under Ronald Reagan)
12-Aug-1988 15-Aug-1991 Dick Thornburgh (under Ronald Reagan and George H.W. Bush)
16-Aug-1991 20-Jan-1993 William Barr (under George H.W. Bush)
20-Jan-1991 12-Mar-1993 Stuart M. Gerson (acting, under Bill Clinton)
12-Mar-1993 20-Jan-2001 Janet Reno (under Bill Clinton)
2-Feb-2001 3-Feb-2005 John Ashcroft (under Bill Clinton)
3-Feb-2005 17-Sep-2007 Alberto Gonzales (under George W. Bush)
17-Sep-2007 18-Sep-2007 Paul Clement (acting, under George W. Bush)
18-Sep-2007 9-Nov-2007 Peter D. Keisler (acting, under George W. Bush)
9-Nov-2007 20-Jan-2009 Michael Mukasey (under George W. Bush)
3-Feb-2009 27-Apr-2015 Eric H. Holder, Jr. (under Barack Obama)
27-Apr-2015 -- Loretta E. Lynch (under Barack Obama)

Do you know something we don't?
Submit a correction or make a comment about this profile

Copyright ©2016 Soylent Communications


Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

Requires Flash 7+ and Javascript.


NNDB has added thousands of bibliographies for people, organizations, schools, and general topics, listing more than 50,000 books and 120,000 other kinds of references. They may be accessed by the "Bibliography" tab at the top of most pages, or via the "Related Topics" box in the sidebar. Please feel free to suggest books that might be critical omissions.